Jamie St. James

Black 'n Blue Black 'n Blue (Majestic Rock) 1984

1. "The Strong Will Rock" (4:08)
2. "School Of Hard Knocks" (4:00)
3. "Autoblast" (3:53)
4. "Hold On To 18" (4:14)
5. "Wicked Bitch" (4:18)
6. "Action" (3:38)
7. "Show Me The Night" (4:04)
8. "One For The Money" (4:20)
9. "I'm The King" (3:44)
10. "Chains Around Heaven" (3:58)

Considered by many to be a classic of heavy metal. Remembered by many as 'just another hair band.' However, early Black 'n Blue are far above your average hair band. Remember that Black 'n Blue made their debut on the same Metal Blade compilation as Metallica. Black 'n Blue were heavy metal, with a ton of attitude, considerable publicity and even video play on that new music station, MTV. They even had the pretty-boy image. We all thought that Black 'n Blue were destined for greatness. They had a sound that rivaled the big acts of the day, having more groove than Ratt and more soul that Quiet Riot. The band's debut was chock full of testosterone driven anthems from the single "Hold On To 18", to the excellent cover of Sweet's "Action", to the rocking "I'm the King". All in all, Black 'n Blue's debut was a very solid metal platter. Unfortunately, while they sold well, they didn't become as big as the aforementioned bands.

Live Black 'n Blue - In Heat (Geffen) 1988

1. "Rock On" (3:45)
2. "Sight for Sore Eyes" (3:31)
3. "Heat it Up! Burn it Out!" (4:21)
4. "Suspicious" (3:42)
5. "The Snake" (4:41)
6. "Live it Up" (3:37)
7. "Gimme Your Love" (3:45)
8. "Get Wise to the Rise" (4:36)
9. "Great Guns of Fire" (4:36)
10. "Stranger" (4:28)

Black 'n Blue is a band I never familiarized myself with other than hearing the occassional song here and there and their track on the first Metal Massacre CD. Many people have suggested I get their stuff. This is the first CD that I have been able to check out from beginning to end. From what I have been told, their first two albums are 'heavier'. This CD is pretty "poppy" sounding with a ton of radio ready rock and a few anthems. "Suspicious" almost has a dancable beat. That being said this CD isn't bad as I do enjoy this style of music. " The Snake" is one of the harder rockin' songs and also one of my favorites off this CD. " Get Wise to the Rise" has a pretty infectious sound as well. Some of this stuff reminds me of mid-80's Kiss, which may be partially due to the fact that Gene Simmons produced this album. (Of course guitarist Tommy Thayer eventually went on to work for Simmons and later even joined Kiss.) I will have to try to get some of their earlier material.

Back to Index