Live Blitzspeer - Live (Epic) 1990

1. "City Boy" (3:48)
2. "Sonic Glory" (3:19)
3. "Road Machine" (7:50)
4. "Laughter" (4:24)
5. "Sky High Again" (2:45)
6. Race to Win" (5:01)
7. "Kick Out the Jams" (3:02)

"Live" was Blitzspeer's debut album, I believe. This is unusual, especially for a band on a major label like Epic. However, Blitzspeer Live is actually a good introduction to the band. Whereas their follow-up studio album is a bit more glossy giving the band a less metallic sound, "Live" is raw and captures that live nightclub energy that is often lost in the studio. The album starts off with a short spoken intro, that made me think a rap band was about to be introduced, before the band bursts out into a heavy, fast and furious song called "City Boy". The crowd sounds rowdy and pumped, which only adds to the appeal of the overall sound. The seven tracks are played rather tight, yet not overly so as to lose the live feel. The songs, of which only one showed up on their next studio album, are all of the straight-up heavy metal variety, with a slight punk attitude and delivery. "City Boy" even has a slight thrash metal aggression to it. Some of the in between song banter is a bit redundant. Why is it that metal bands like to sound unintelligent and profane? Why can't they get through even one sentence without using the same expletive repeatedly? Other than that one irritant, the music contained herein is quite enjoyable. "Live" was recorded at the Limelight in New York City, NY on July 22, 1989. The cover art was drawn by Pushead who is known for his many illustrations for Metallica in the late 80's/early 90's. "Kick Out the Jams" is a fast cover of MC5's classic.

Metal Church Blitzspeer - Saves (Epic) 1991

1. "Sonic Glory" (3:59)
2. "Truck of Love" (4:22)
3. "City of Angels" (2:44)
4. "Seems Like Yesterday" (4:43)
5. "Bad Girl" (3:03)
6. "Mother Superior" (5:19)
7. "Man In Black" (3:22)
8. "Almost Tomorrow" (2:54)
9. "Dead & Dyin'" (2:39)
10. "Can't Lose (What You've Never Had)" (4:01)
11. "American Dog" (6:20)
12. "Silly Boy" [unlisted track] (3:09)

I had read that Blitzspeer were a thrash band. Since I am a huge fan of thrash and speed metal, I was anxious to check them out. I even posted on a couple of metal message boards asking for people's opinions on the band. Most opinions were lukewarm at best, but all seemed to agree that they were 'just a thrash band.' Well, on my first listen I was sort of let down despite not having high expectations due to these comments. Blitzspeer are not thrash metal at all. (I mean, not even slightly.) Actually, at times I am reminded of the funk and drive of Guns n Roses debut, delivered with a punk-like Ramones vibe. I am not saying that Blitzspeer sounds like GnR or the Ramones. However, tracks like "Truck of Love", "Bad Girl" and "Man in Black" certainly have that punk meets heavy metal flair to them. ("Bad Girls" is a New York Dolls.) Blitzspeer are actually just a straight forward heavy metal band with a punk like delivery. Guitarist and vocalist Phil Caivano has that gruff, tough-guy from Los Angeles vocal delivery (although Blitzspeer are from New York City, I believe). Regardless of what label you put on these guys, they are certainly aggressive and infectious. The cover art for this album is terrible! The picture of Jesus wearing a Blitzspeer t-shirt is just in bad taste and really doesn't represent this band's lyrical direction at all. I am sure this was just meant to create controversy to help sell CDs, but I'd be willing to bet that the cover art deterred people from checking out the band.

Back to Index