Power World Desyre - Worning of the Night (Glam Nation) 2009

1.   Warning Of The Night (:40)
2.   Dreams (5:01)
3.   Can’t Let Go (5:02)
4.   Yule Night Brightness (4:43)
5.   Calling (4:28)
6.   Mr. Hyde In Delite (5:20)
7.   Ransom (5:11)
8.   No One Knows (4:07)
9.   Undoings Of My Life (4:30)
10. The Battle (3:56)
11. Burning In The 3rd Degree (10:11)

Desyre are a band from Finland formed in 2004 that desire to see the return of the sound and the spectacle of 1980's heavy metal. In fact, I am sure these guys would have loved to have been living on the Sunset Strip during the heyday of big hair, spandex and guitar wizardry. Desyre have the look down for sure. It's all about being a bigger than life spectacle. There's something to be said about showmanship, which has all but disappeared from heavy metal in more recent years. Helsinki based Desyre are on a mission to change that in both its over-the-top hair-metal image and it's metallic musical leanings.

"Warning Of The Night." is the band's independently released, first full-length debut. The sound is a mixture of the metallic leanings of Stryper and the glam rock of Hanoi Rocks. While the music fits nicely under the pop metal umbrella, the album is a mixture of up-tempo numbers ("Calling" and "The Battle") and mid-paced direction  songs ("Dreams" and "Mr. Hyde In Delite").  There is also the obligatory ballad ("Ransom"), an acoustic number ("Undoings Of My Life") and a heavy metal Christmas Carol titled "Yule Night Brightness". "Dreams" really recalls the classic 80's Stryper sound, especially in the music. The musicianship throughout is the strength of the music. The band knows how to write those chugging metal songs, mixing in some more melodic moments and a few galloping riffs. As is mandatory for this style of metal, there is the tag-team guitars of Mazi Bee and Coco Tommy. Taking a cue from Stryper's strong dual guitar sound, Desyre build their sound around that template.

What Desyre really lacks are the immediate hooks that are a must for this style of metal. I was really looking for those fist-in-the-air, sing-along type anthems but they weren't really there. The other problem lies in the vocals. Though Mazi Bee has a good singing voice that sometimes sounds like a young Vince Neil, the recording seems to squash or compress the vocals, which makes them sound a bit odd. Also, the vocals seem to be a bit low in the mix. Mazi lets off a few high-pitched screams and sounds fantastic. Overall, however, he has a sound that would have worked better on a sleazier type of sound like Faster Pussycat. However, I think the real problem is in the recording or mixing as opposed to the vocals themselves.

Despite being an indie release, the packaging is top notch, right down to the very 1980's looking cover art.
The four panel digi is professionally laid out. There is also a 12-page booklet packed with photos and lyrics.

Glamtron Desyre - Glamtron (independent) 2013

1.   Enter The Glamtron (0:41)
2.   Too Hot For Radio (4:43)
3.   Party Song (3:37)
4.   Dangerous Desyre (4:06)
5.   Mystery Eyes (4:46)
6.   Beyond The Horizon (5:27)
7.   The Magic Of Your Kingdom (4:59)
8.   War Of Stars (4:31)
9.   Protector (4:31)
10. First Blood (4:19)
11. Follow Me (4:06)

"Glamtron" is the second album from Finnish glam rockers Desyre. In short, it is a vast improvement over their debut. Desyre are still flying high the glam metal banner on this album. Spandex, hair spray, heavy riffs, and an unwavering dedication to both music and showmanship. This quality is something that is missing in many modern metal bands. While many bands are satisfied with getting onto stage looking like they just drug themselves out of bed, Desyre go for the larger-than-life showmanship that use to be present in heavy metal. However, none of that would really matter if the songs weren't good. 

On their sophomore album the band combine heavy, chugging riffs, power-metal keyboards and hooky songwriting. As such, "Glamtron" is a fun album. It had me playing air guitar to the chunky riffs while singing and shouting along with the lyrics. What really makes this album unique is the interplay between those "happy" keyboards and those chunky guitar riffs. With this combination the band have really found a unique sound that is unlike any other. Since the band's debut the band have really honed their songwriting as well. Songs like "Too Hot For Radio" and "Party Song" offer memorable hooks. With titles like "Party Song", "Too Hot for Radio" and "Dangerous Desyre" they are obviously not going for ultra-poetic lyrics. However, their lyrics also seem to have some positive and spiritual meanings behind them, even if those meanings aren't overtly apparent like on a Stryper song. 

"Glamtron" was recorded without the help of a producer. As such, the production is the one shortfall on this otherwise spectacular album. The raw production of the music itself actually works in the band's favor. A cleaner more polished production might have robbed the band of the heaviness that makes the album so appealing. My only minor complaint is that the vocals seem to be lost in the spectrum of the sound at times. Perhaps they are just a tad too low in the mix or perhaps it's just an EQ thing. Either way, I didn't find this so distracting that I didn't completely enjoy this album. 

Desyre's second album is a big step forward from their debut in all areas. I'm anxious to see what the band delivers next. Break out the AquaNet, fishnet stockings and spandex, glam metal is still alive and well and living in Finland.

Back to Index