Signs of the End Devil Riding Shotgun (independent) 2007

1. "Silence" (4:10)
2. "Love to Hate You" (2:40)
3. "Here We Go" (6:29)
4. "Just Thinking" (3:30)
5. "She" (3:11)
6. "Dream" (3:12)
7. "Walk" (2:50)
8. "Why" (4:48)

I was playing a show at a new club in Albuquerque with Ultimatum in July 2007. The opening band (Devil Riding Shotgun) was great, old school dooooom metal similar to Place of Skulls, The Obsessed and Pentagram. Their sound was dirty, nasty and heavy. Lots of distortion on the bass and a ton of groove. Of course the guitarist used a Gibson SG. What else would you expect? Unfortunately there were not very many people there to see this band, but regardless, I was impressed enough to pick up their CD. Their CD is well produced, and may even be too clean for this band. They had lots of feedback and reverb live that is missing from the recording. I would imagine capturing this band's sound is quite difficult in a studio. However, that's not to say that this CD isn't good. In fact, I've listened to it several times over since picking it up at that show and quit enjoy it. The band write slow to mid-paced grooves. With the cleaner production, their studio sound falls somewhere between doom and stoner rock. The CD itself is professionally pressed but are encased in one of those slimline cases with only a single page insert for a cover. While their CD sounds very professional, the overall look of the disc is that of a demo. Regardless, the music contained is quite good and should appeal to fans of doom and stoner rock. "She" is not a Kiss cover, although that would have been cool to hear. Check 'em out:

Back to Index