Duff - Believe in Me (Geffen) 1993

1. "Believe in Me" (3:23)
2. "I Love You" (4:14)
3. "Man in the Meadow" (4:50)
4. "(F@*ked up) Beyond Belief" (3:29)
5. "Could It Be You" (3:08)
6. "Just Not There" (3:34)
7. "Punk Rock Song" (1:37)
8. "The Majority" (3:10)
9. "10 Years" (4:29)
10. "Swamp Song" (3:04)
11. "Trouble" (3:12)
12. "F@*K You" (3:24)
13. "Lonely Tonite" (3:03)

Guns N' Roses bassist Duff McKagan goes out on his own, releasing his first solo disc "Believe in Me". He wrote or co-wrote all the songs and played almost all the instruments, proving that he is a very talented and versitile musician. Gn'R bandmates Slash and Gilby Clarke, as well as Lenny Kravitz, guitar legend Jeff Beck, and Skid Row's Sebastian Bach and Snake Sabo make guest appearances as well. With an all-star list like this, you'd expect something quite awe-inspiring. Duff's "can't sing-don't care" vocal style echoes Joe Perry's style and his songwriting even seems to mix in some of that Aerosmith/Joe Perry style, along with some punk and New York Dolls glam attitude. However, "Believe in Me" really sounds like watered down, second-rate Guns N' Roses. There are some interesting moments. "Beyond Belief", a funky track that has McKagan's paying homage to Prince, is interesting. "Trouble", which features Sebastian Bach on vocals, is also a track I dug. Some of the more punk influenced songs like "Punk Rock Song" are also interesting, On the other hand "F@*K You" is an absolutely horrible rap/rock song with insipid lyrics. Also, Duff's vocals get to be a bit grating after a while. Overall, this disc is more or less a collector's item for Guns N' Roses fans.

Related Collections:
Guns N Roses | Slash's Snakepit

Back to Index