Canada's Erase was started by guitarist/vocalist Jason Campbell. The band began shortly after Jason came off the Mortification "Blood World" tour
as their fill-in guitarist.

Mental Overload Erase-Mental Overload (Morphine) 1997

1. "Mental Overload" (3:50)
2. "Untitled" (3:36)
3. "Hand Over Fist" (3:41)
4. "Wretch" (3:25)
5. "Trust" (4:35)
6. "Alone" (3:24)
7. "Love Lost" (4:27)
8. "Unglued" (4:29)
9. "Plastic Soul" (5:06)
10. "Escape Reason" (4:12)

Despite band leader Jason Campbell's connections to Mortification, Erase sound nothing like them. Erase fall somewhere between death metal and modern bands like Pantera and Biohazard, adding in a distinct hardcore flavor and attitude. Surprisingly, for being so rich in intensity, the songs are somewhat memorable after a few listens. When I first received this disc, I played it over and over as the riffs are outstanding and had me hooked. Songs like "Untitled" crush with a force that few bands have, especially when considering that they are on a small indie label that doesn't possess the funds for a big production.

Back to Index