Texas Thrash Metal!

Victims of Science Gammacide - Victims of Science (Gamma Records) 1989/2005

1. "Endangered Species" (3:40)
2. "Fossilized" (3:54)
3. "Shock Treatment" (2:53)
4. "Victims of Science" (3:40)
5. "Gutter Rats" (4:40)
6. "Walking Plague" (4:11)
7. "Chemical Imbalance" (4:15)
8. "Incubus" (4:08)
9. "Observations" (2:25)
10. "Crackdown" (4:46)
11. "Ballistic" (4:58)
12. "Forces of Nature" (5:05)
13. "Sex Cult" (5:17)
14. "Against The Grain" (5:00)
15. "Vapor Lock" (7:48)

Unlike New York or California, Texas isn't as known for their thrash metal bands. However, there have been some underground, cult favorites such as Rigor Mortis, Watchtower, and Gammacide that have emerged from the Lonestar State. I've heard of the name Gammacide, but until their CD was re-released in 2005, I had yet to hear them. All I can say is WOW! This is some serious, intense, old-school, thrash metal. "Victims of Science" was originally released on vinyl in 1989 with only nine songs. All nine songs are fast and furious thrash metal, almost like Slayer on steriods, without the inane Satan lyrics. Just when you think it can't get any heavier, the tenth track kicks in and ups the intensity level just a bit more. Tracks 10 - 14 are from the band's rare 1991 demo, which apparently was never released to the public but was only released to press and record companies. The last two tracks continue the thrash assault. These tracks were recorded in 2004, but were originally written by the band in 1992. All fifteen tracks should send any self respecting thrasher into immediate fits of headbanging and moshing.

Back to Index