The Jelly Jam

The Jelly Jam The Jelly Jam (Inside Out) 2002

1. "I Can't Help You" (3:01)
2. "No Remedy" (4:05)
3. "Nature" (:58)
4. "Nature's Girl" (5:12)
5. "Feeling" (5:21)
6. "Reliving" (4:12)
7. "The Jelly Jam" (5:49)
8. "I Am The King" (4:38)
9. "The King's Dance" (2:11)
10. "Under The Tree" (9:37)

The way I understand it, The Jelly Jam was formed from the ashes of Platypus after keyboard player Derek Sherinian picked up and called it a day. Without him the band is much heavier and draws more heavily from 1970's greats like Zeppelin and Hendrix. As a matter of fact, if you can imagine King's X together in a garage just jamming, that is almost exactly what you will get here. Unlike Platypus John Myung's bass playing is much more prominent in the almost perfect mix. Lyrically, the Jelly Jam seems to be a very personal album for Ty Tabor. As with King's X there are those big vocal harmonies all over the place. Perhaps my favorite track is epic album closer "Under The Tree" (9:37) which starts off with some Eastern influences and those Beatle-esque vocal harmonies. Actually, had this song been recorded for "Faith, Hope & Love" it would have fit right in.

Back to Index