Khollapse Kohllapse (independent) 1996

1. "Path" [instrumental] (1:27)
2. "Tell Me Your Fears" (10:36)
3. "Never" (7:12)
4. "Towards" [instrumental] (1:03)
5. "Take Me Away" (4:09)
6. "My Child" (4:49)
7. "An End to Pain" (2:29)
8. "Self Infliction" (7:55)
9. "Serenity" (4:11)

I suppose the label would be doom metal, but Australia's Kohllapse have a lot of dynamics to their music. When I think of doom metal I tend to think Trouble, but Khollapse are not as groovy and retro as Trouble. They create a more somber mood and remind me slightly of Paradise Lost's "Draconian Times." The slow doomy parts mixed with some of the clean, acoustic parts and the overall slow drudge of the music is just fabulous. I'm not even sure what words to use to describe the music on this disc. Certain music just moves me, and this is one of those discs that does. There is one exception to the overall picture that I have painted, however. Track 7 ""An End To Pain" is a tight speed black metal number complete with those high pitched Emperor howls. Sort of breaks things up a bit. This is one of the best indie releases I have ever heard. I am surprised that this one was never picked up by Nuclear Blast or Massacre for release in Europe, although I have seen it for sale in their catalogues.

Kohllapse - Distant Mind Alternative (Soundmass) 1999

1. "Thorn" (5:19)
2. "Real Man In Quicksand" (5:28)
3. "Seven" (7:51)
4. "Gravitation" (5:47)
5. "Ghost Storm" (4:02)
6. "Eclipse" (7:27)
7. "Contort" (7:13)
8. "Deep Blue" (5:47)
9. "Insight" (6:26)
10. untitled (1:34)

Back in the mid-1990's I picked up the independent self-titled release from Kohllapse. I quite liked it at the time. I remember it being pretty much straight forward doom metal. That is not the case with "Distant Mind Alternative". This album is an odd mixture or haunting melodies, atmospheric sounds and industrial, gothic rock. At times they remind me of Paradise Lost, Type O Negative and even Pink Floyd. There were points that I thought to myself, "this is what Pink Floyd might have sounded like if they had a heavy metal influence." This was especially true of "Seven" during one of the instrumental guitar breaks. The overall mood of the CD, while heavy and dark at times, is actually quite mellow and somber. This is partially due to the slow, doomy tempos. However, I'd be hard pressed to call this doom metal. For that matter, I'd be hard pressed to label this at all. Perhaps industrial, gothic, hard rock is the best label. Either way, it's one of those CDs that will capture you, pull you in and demand your attention. Unlisted track 10 is just a bunch of silly noises; screams, burps, grunts, etc.

Originally released in 1999, this album was re-released in 2005 with new artwork by Soundmass and is available again through their website at www.soundmass.com and CDBaby.com.

Back to Index