Rock Goddess

Rock Goddess (Lemon) 1983

1. Heartache (3:47)
2. Back to You (1:57)
3. The Love Lingers Still (2:54)
4. To Be Betrayed (4:10)
5. Take Your Love Away (4:02)
6. My Angel (3:01)
7. Satisfied Then Crucified (2:57)
8. Start Running (3:26)
9. One Way Love (3:19)
10. Make My Night (2:45)
11. Heavy Metal Rock 'n' Roll (2:48)
12. I Didn't Know I Loved You (3:34)

Rock Goddess are an all-female, English heavy metal/hard rock band that formed in the late 1970's during the height of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM). The band was formed by sisters Jody Turner (guitar and vocals) and Julie Turner (drums), who were 9 & 13 years old at the time of their forming. They are frequently compared to metal titans Girlschool, but these gals have as much in common with The Runaways as they do with Girlschool.

With their first album the all-female power trio created a very raw and heavy sound. The album opens with a short, sweet intro that gives the false impression that these gals were going to be a bit soft but within seconds the intensity builds and the band launches into a raw, primitive heavy metal riff and lyrics about love gone bad from a ladies point of view. Similarly songs like "Satisfied Then Crucified" and "Love Lingers Still" repeats this emotional lyrical approach that fuels some hard rockin' songs. "Back To You" is an upbeat rocker with a bit of a Motorhead feel. Then there is the heavy metal anthem, "Heavy Metal Rock 'n' Roll", which has the ladies proclaiming their love for all things metal. This was the song that finished off the album but this CD re-issue contains the bonus track, the cover of Gary Glitter's "I Didn't Know I Loved You".

Hell Hath No Fury Rock Goddess - Hell Hath No Fury (Renaissance) 1983

1. Hell Hath No Fury (4:06)
2. I Didn't Know I Loved You (Till I Saw You Rock & Roll) (3:35)
3. Gotta Let Your Hair Down (3:23)
4. In the Night (4:19)
5. Hold Me Down (4:03)
6. The Visitors Are Here (5:29)
7. You've Got Fire (3:07)
8. It Will Never Change (4:44)
9. Don't Want Your Love (3:43)
10. God Be With You (3:27)
11. Satisfed Then Crucified (Remix) (2:57)
12. My Angel (Remix) (3:02)

The second album for the young, all-female, power trio known as Rock Goddess. The album was produced by one of the hottest metal producers around at the time, Chris Tsangarides, who in that same year produced "Thunder & Lightning" for Thin Lizzy, "Mean Streak" for Y&T and "Forged in Fire" for Anvil. Though it might sound trite to say, the sound here is a cross between the gutsy rock and roll of The Runaways and the more punky-vibe of fellow NWOBHM band Girlschool. Whereas the band's first album showcased a powerful band with strong grooves, solid songwriting and raw, heavy production, "Hell Hath No Fury" is a bit more tame and less raw. Tsangarides gives the band a more mainstream sound without sacrificing their nasty attitude and hard rock edge.

On the U.S. pressing of the album there as a Gary Glitter cover, "I Didn't Know I Loved You (Till I Saw You Rock & Roll)". This song definitely has that Runaways sound, almost as if Joan Jett herself were on guitar. However, the rest of the album isn't quite as poppy. Songs like the title track and "Gotta Let Your Hair Down" are easily as strong as anything on the debut and showcase that same hooky style of songwriting. These songs are inevitably compared to Girlschool, and rightly so. They have a very similar sound. "You've Got Fire" is an up-beat hard rocker as well with a hooky chorus, Jody Turner's rough and gritty snarl gives the band much of it’s own character. Another stand-out track is "The Visitors are Here" with it's progressive feel and odd keyboards that help to enhance the subject matter presented in the lyrics.

"Hell Hath No Fury" is a strong hard rock album from the British power trio. It is packed full of strong choruses and a slightly more commercially songs but still built around a gritty, NWOBHM attitude.

Theocracy Rock Goddess - Anthology  (Renaissance Records) 2007

1.      Hell Hath No Fury (4:06)
2.      I Didn't Know I Loved You (Till I Saw You Rock & Roll) (3:34)
3.      Hold Me Down (4:01)
4.      God Be With You (3:27)
5.      Heartache (03:45)
6.      My Angel (3:01)
7.      In the Heart of Night (3:15)
8.      Heavy Metal Rock 'N' Roll (2:49)
9.      Young and Free (2:46)
10.     One Way Love (3:20)
11.     To Be Betrayed (4:07)
12.     Satisfied The Crucified (2:56)
13.     Gotta Let Your Hair Down (3:20)
14.     Love Is a Bitch (2:49)
15.     Boys Will Be Boys (2:19)
16.     The Love Lingers Still (2:53)
17.     In the Night (4:17)
18.     I've Seen It All Before (4:18)
19.     Hey Lover (3:26)
20.     No More (3:17)
21.     Hello (3:36)
22.     Sexy Eyes (3:36)

Rock Goddess was an all-female, English heavy metal/hard rock band that emerged in the early-1980’s during the height of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM). The band was formed by frighteningly young sisters  (9 & 13 years old) Jody Turner (guitar and vocals) and Julie Turner (drums) with their dad managing them. They were frequently (and rightly) compared to metal titans Girlschool, but to be honest, these gals have as much in common with The Runaways as they do with Girlschool. The band draws their sound from a vast history of hard rock and metal, with a heaping helping of the NWOBHM sound. For the most part the music is upbeat with those early 80's guitar tones and party/anthem type songs. Much like a lot of the lighter NWOBHM fare, Rock Goddess have a pop sensibility that is forged in steel with a tough looking image and sound. Vocalist Jody Turner has a gritty voice that adds to the band's toughness. The title of their song "Heavy Metal Rock 'n' Roll" is actually a great definition of the sound of the band.

This compilation features a mixture of songs from their three albums. The songs from the band's debut have the heaviest sound, being produced by Motorhead producer Vic Maile. The album produced the minor hit single "My Angel" which managed to chart in the UK. The song is an upbeat, meaty rocker with a sing-along chorus. Their follow-up was produced by renouned metal producer Chris Tsangarides, who polished the band up just a bit so that these songs lose their charm slightly to the grittier debut. The album was released in two different editions; the American release having different cover art and track listing than the European release. Still, their sophomore album scored a minor hit with the title track, "Hell Hath No Fury". Their third album was recorded in 1985 and not released until 1987 on a small French label. As such, it might have been a good idea to put the tracks on this compilation in chronological order, but alas that is not the case. The first four songs come off "Hell Hath No Fury", then the track listing jumps around from all three albums. Frankly, at 22 songs, this compilation is a bit labor-some to listen to in one sitting. However, at 22 songs, unless anyone is a Girlschool fanatic, this compilation might be all they need to satisfy a craving for Rock Goddess' brand of British Heavy Metal.

"Anthology" has an 8-page insert with a short bio, discography, and classic photos of the band and their various collectible singles.

Back to Index