Shark Island

Law of the Order Shark Island - Law of the Order (Epic) 1989

1. "Paris Calling" (4:51)
2. "Shake for Me" (4:07)
3. "Somebody's Falling" (3:58)
4. "Bad for Each Other" (4:38)
5. "Passion to Ashes" (4:01)
6. "Spellbound" (3:14)
7. "Get Some Strange" (4:11)
8. "Why Should I Believe" (5:33)
9. "Ready or Not" (3:36)
10. "The Chain" (5:33)

Apparently Shark Island were a huge band on the L.A./Hollywood metal scene in the 80's. Things I have read about the band from back then were that they were going to 'change the face of heavy metal' and that they were "THE band out of LA in the late eighties.' Unfortunately the band didn't live up to the hype created. While this CD is a very enjoyable melodic metal romp, it doesn't have the charsma to pull it out of the pack, in my opinion. That is not to say that "Law of the Order" is not a good disc, however. It's simply that this CD sounds to much like everything else that was going on in 1989. That aside, however, the songs are groovy, a bit pomp, and certainly very memorable. The dual guitar work is quite nice in places as well ("Passion to Ashes")"Passion to Ashes". Tracks like "Sombeody's Falling", "Paris Calling and the cover of Fleetwood Mac's "The Chain" are pretty darn cool.

For a while this CD was selling for premium dollars on eBay but in 2003 the CD was re-issued on double-CD with the "Live at the Whiskey" album and two songs from the 'Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure' soundtrack ("Dangerous" and "Father Time"). Richard Black (lead vocals) sang for Contraband along with Bobby Blotser on drums, Tracii Guns and Michael Schenker on guitars. Black also has an album with Jake E Lee of Ozzy and Badlands fame called Bourgeous Pigs.

Back to Index