the Sign

Signs of Life The Sign - Signs of Life (Frontiers) 2000

1. "I'm Alive" (7:17)
2. "Crossed the Line" (4:44)
3. "Aryon" (5:47)
4. "Forever Again" (5:05)
5. "Stranded" (3:44)
6. "All Your Life" (4:27)
7. "The Wait" (4:27)
8. "I Will Be There For You" (4:32)
9. "Nothing But a Heartache" (5:37)
10. "Wine" (4:00)
11. "Desperate Heart" (4:08)
12. "Signs of Life" (5:17)
13. "Hidden drums" (:32)

WOW! This is simply an amazing CD. Rarely do I open a review with those words. Perhaps it was because I had never heard of these guys before and had no expectations as to what they were like, but once I popped this CD into the deck I was treated to almost an hour of some of the finest AOR and progressive rock I have heard in a while. These guys have it all; superb guitar from Zebra's Randy Jackson, cool keys, big, memorable chorus hooks, peaks, valleys, and seamless vocals from Terry rock and Randy Jackson. While the arrangements are someone technical and relatively complicated, the band has not forsaken good songwriting for technical wankery. Comparisons to Zebra are almost pointless, although there are some here and there. The lyrics on this CD are also interesting. "Signs of Life" is a concept album based on the life, journey and temptations of a girl named Aryon, starting from her birth in "I'm Alive". While the storyline adds to the appeal, I am not so much impressed by the story as I am by the musicianship and songwriting of "Signs of Life". I was truly blown away from the first listen. It should also be noted that Bobby Rondinelli (ex-Riot, Doro, Quiet Riot, Blue Oyster Cult, Rainbow, etc.) performs drums and Billy Greer (of Kansas fame) is on bass.

Back to Index