United States of Mind

Silver Step Child USM (United States of Mind) -Silver Step Child (Nightmare Records) 2001

1 "Beneath the Low" (4:08)
2. "Silver Step Child" (4:50)
3. "Believe It or Not" (5:05)
4. "The Time of Our Lives" (6:11)
5. "It's All Over Now" (4:55)
6. "Kiss the Sun" (4:52)
7. "The Weird and the Wonderful" (5:37)
8. "Terrorphobiac" (4:18)
9. "The Other Side of Paradise" (4:47)
10. "The Paranoid Thing" (5:07)

These guys were all the hype on the Perpetual Motion Board for a while because this melodic metal disc features two members of Balance of Power. USM, however, differs stylistically from B.O.P. There are a few tunes on this disc that could have been on a B.O.P.. album, however. The difference is mostly in the vocals and in the guitar sound. According to their web site the disc was recorded using a 7-string guitar giving the album a huge crunch. Apparently, while this disc is a new release in the U.S., it was released before in Europe with a different cover and slightly different mastering.

Back to Index