Act of God Znöwhite - Act of God (Roadrunner/Metal Mind) 1988

1. "To The Last Breath" (5:38)
2. "Baptised by Fire" (3:58)
3. "Pure Blood" (4:52)
4. "War Machine" (5:26)
5. "Thunderdome" (4:34)
6. "Rest In Peace" (6:03)
7. "Diseased Bigotry" (4:48)
8. "A Soldier's Creed" (4:12)
9. "Something Wicked (This Way Comes)" (9:26)

Zn÷white are one of those bands that I completely missed in the 80's. I had several friends into them, but I myself didn't get to hear them until almost two decades later. What I missed was proficient thrash band with an unusual vocalist in female singer Nicole Lee. The band combined thrash and power metal riffs and were fairly proficient. However, what really makes this band stand out is Nicole's unique vocals. It is unusual to hear a female singing in a thrash band to begin with. Usually when I think of 1980's female singers, ladies like Doro Pesh and Lita Ford come to mind. While both were good vocalists, they weren't singing over terribly heavy music either. Nicole's vocals are raspy, almost like a female Lemmy Kilmister and her high shriek and her furious delivery bring life to this album. That's not to say that the music itself isn't good, but I really think that Lee's vocals help to distinguish Zn÷white. Lee went on to form heavy metal band Sentinel Steel, while the rest of the band went on to form Cyclone Temple.

Related collections:
Cyclone Temple

Back to Index