Metal Church Anthem - The Remix-Cuttin' Thru II (independent) 1999

1. "Spiritual Warfare" (2:50)
2. "On Your Knees" (3:28)
3. "Winners" (3:24)
4. "Cuttin' Thru'" (2:38)
5. "Word" (3:20)
6. "Cheap Thrill" (2:31)
7. "Free Will" (4:02)
8. "Morning Star" (3:37)
9. "Doctor" (3:08)
10. "Don't Be Decieved" (3:56)

This CD came as a surprise gift from a friend who I consider to be one of the authorities on Christian music. I had never heard this band before and had no idea what to expect when I popped the CD in to the player. This also meant that I had no expectations. So it was with delight I listened through this CD for the first time. Anthem play a form of hard rock rarely heard anymore that reminds me of great bands like Heart, Boston, Foreigner and on the Christian side, Barnabas, AD and Petra. What this CD does is offeres remixed, remastered versions of songs from the band's one and only vinly release (1981). The most noticable thing about this band's sound is "the voice". Vocalist Mary Pinkly can sing! I mean, she just belts out these songs as if her life depended on it. The passion that she sings these songs out to her Savior is undeniable and probably my biggest attraction to the band. However, the music is also well played. In the extensive liner notes it is stated that when this band began in 1981 "Anthem was basically one girl and five guys with a lot of passion for music and God. Mary had the voice, and the band brought the groove." I really can't say it any better than that. The songs are full of melodic guitar solos and catchy hooks. Of course what would a good 80's rock band be without those keys. Anthem uses the keyboards effectively throughout. The lyrics are evangelistic in nature and certainly speaking to both the Christian and the non-Christian alike. Keith Green would be proud and I am sure that the Father was. It's a shame more band's don't display this sort of passion about their faith.

Back to Index