An early incarnation of the Galactic Cowboys featuring Monty Colvin (bass/vocals) and Alan Doss (drums/vocals).

the Awful Truth The Awful Truth (Metal Blade/Enigma) 1989

1. "It Takes So Long" (5:46)
2. "Circle" (5:18)
3. "I Should Have Known" (7:32)
4. "Higher" (7:17)
5. "Ghost in Heaven" (4:41)
6. "No Good Reason" (6:16)
7. "Drowning Man" (5:56)
8. "Mary" (5:31)

With two of the main writers from the Galactic Cowboys and Sam Taylor producing (who also produced King's X), this sounds like an infantile version of the Galactic Cowboys. Guitarist David Von Ohlerking actually has most of the writing credits, but this doesn't change the fact that this disc has that Houston, TX sound that is inbred in bands like King's X, Atomic Opera, and Galactic Cowboys. The music is not quite as heavy as GC, although Monty plays a lot of distorted bass. The guitar tones are all over the place. Von Ohlerking doesn't stick to one guitar sound and uses a lot of spacey clean tones and grainy distortions. The vocals are very melodic and layered with plenty of harmonies, as one would expect from Sam Taylor. The lyrics are refreshing as well, focusing on spiritual themes. In "Ghost Of Heaven" the chorus says "...Ghost Of Heaven...hear my plea...Holy Voice, won't You...speak to me..." and in "Drowning Man" is says "...Oh God help me...take my hand...please save this...drowning man...".

Back to Index