Tales of Ordinary Madness Bates Motel - Tales of Ordinary Madness (Tomcat) 2002

1 "Killing Me" (3:40)
2. "All You'll Never Be" (3:09)
3. "Cemeteries" (3:29)
4. "A Found God" (3:05)
5. "No Machine" (4:06)
6. "Lost" (3:25)
7. "The Man Who Pops Balloons" (3:28)
8. "Tradedia" (3:50)
9. "Nothing To Lose" (3:49)
10. Famous Murderes" (4:16)
11. "Broken" (3:13)
12. "Sweet Transvestite" (3:50)
13. "1000 Wasps" (9:46)

I bought this CD because I read the following review:
"Bates Motel (T.O.O.M.) Tales of Ordinary Madness is one ferocious slab of a CD -thrash, thrash and thrash metal!!! 13 songs- produced by Annihilator main man Jeff Waters!! Very rare Canada only CD. If you like 100MPH thrash stuff you'll need to add this one to your collection!!!! Ultra cool!!"

I had also read that Jeff Waters had written a couple of songs on this CD. Well, the above review is 100% false. First of all this isn't even close to thrash. Rather Bates Motel is punky heavy metal that reminds me a bit of the Ramones at times. Jeff Waters did have a hand in writing on this CD, but he doesn't write in the classic Annihilator style as might be expected. Second, the songs here are not even close to being "100 MPH." Rather most of the songs are of the mid-paced variety. Not that there is anything wrong with this. Actually I quite enjoyed this disc, but I must admit I was disappointed at first because this was so far removed from what I was expecting. About the only thing the above review got correct was that this was a release in Canada only.

Back to Index