Death metal from England.

Warmaster Bolt Thrower - Warmaster (Earache) 1991

1. "Intro...Unleashed (upon Mankind)" (6:11)
2. "What Dwells Within" (4:17)
3. "The Shreds of Sanity" (3:25)
4. "Profane Creation" (5:31)
5. "Destructive Infinity" (4:12)
6. "Final Revelation" (3:54)
7. "Cenotaph" (4:03)
8. "War Master" (4:16)
9. "Rebirth of Humanity" (4:01)
10. "Afterlife" (5:59)

Bolt Thrower are typical of early 90's death metal, and unfortunately, the genre hasn't changed much in the last 10 years. The gutteral growling vocals sound no different than any other dime a dozen death bands. The difference with Bolt Thrower, however, is that they are not quite as extreme as some of the other death bands. Bolt Thrower don't play every riff at breakneck speed and often slow down the tempo, making the lyrics easier to understand and the music a bit more accessible to the average metal and thrash fan. At times they remind me of early Mortification and Carcass. I've heard great things about this band, and since I found this 1995 re-issue for only $3.99 new, I thought I'd give 'em a try. Not bad, but nothing really spectacular either.

Back to Index