Brand New Sin
Brand New Sin

Fight for your Life Brand New Sin (Now or Never Records) 2003

1. "Intro" (:27)
2. "Broken Soul" (4:48)
3. "My World" (4:07)
4. "Desperate Times Desperate Means" (3:08)
5. "Sad Wings" (3:58)
6. "The Oath" (3:44)
7. "Missin You" (4:35)
8. "SPP" (3:14)
9. "Did You?" (3:51)
10. "Judgement Day" (3:25)
11. "Changes" (4:14)
12. "Shattered" (4:49)

I took a chance on these guys after reading a positive review on a metal discussion board. Glad I did! Brand New Sin write solid, catchy songs with a slight Southern tinge and would best be labeled stoner metal or just plain 'ol hard rock. Imagine if you took the pummeling guitars of Black Label Society or Corrosion of Conformity and mixed them with Lynyrd Skynyrd and a touch of Metallica and you might come up with something similar to the Brand New Sin debut. The band somehow manage to sound current, while having a total retro-heavy metal sound. That's not to say they sound like and Iron Maiden or Judas Priest clone. Rather, BNS have more in common with bands like Black Sabbath or Blue Cheer. Boasting a three guitarist army not unlike Skynyrd or Molly Hatchet, Brand New Sin has a powerful sound that is created by using simple, pounding guitar riffs and quality vocal hooks. Vocalist Joe Altier has a powerhouse voice that sounds like a cross between Phil Anselmo and John Bush. Heavy! Indeed! One other thing that Brand New Sin offers is something that has become taboo in many modern metal bands, guitar solos. Yes, this album is peppered with solos. "Broken Soul" has a Maiden-styled two-part harmony solo that is simple, melodic and compliments the song. While the majority of the CD is heavy, there are some more melodic moments as well. "Sad Wings" explores the Southern rock sound further, mixing in a bid 'ol healthy dose of roaring guitar riffs. Likewise, "Missing You" is an acoustic based Southern rock song that recalls the glory days of Blackfoot and Skynyrd. The overall sound of this album is pretty raw, but it works in the band's benefit. The raw production coupled with the bands aggressive writing is a perfect combination. I can't say enough good things about this. Take a chance on a new band and check out Brand New Sin. (thanks for the suggestion Rexorcist)

Black & Blue Brand New Sin - Black & Blue (Century Media) 2005

1. "Black and Blue" (3:17)
2. "Endless" (3:44)
3. "Time's Tomorrow" (3:34)
4. "Wasted" (2:59)

After releasing their independent debut the band was picked up by Century Media Records. Their first release was this four song EP, featuring the track "Black and Blue" which would also show up on their "Recipe for Disaster" CD. The other three tracks are exclusive to this EP. "Endless" and "Time's Tomorrow" are both hard and heavy rocks. "Wasted" has a bit more of the classic Southern rock vibe.

Disaster Brand New Sin - Recipe for Disaster (Century Media) 2005

1. "Arrived" (3:10)
2. "The Loner" (2:33)
3. "Brown Street Betty" (3:20)
4. "Black and Blue" (3:15)
5. "Running Alone" (4:04)
6. "Freight Train" (3:33)
7. "Vicious Cycles" (3:45)
8. "Another Reason" (5:19)
9. "Days Are Numbered" (3:19)
10. "Once In A Lifetime" (4:23)
11. "Dead Man Walking" (3:37)
12. "Gulch" (:38)
13. "Wyoming" (6:09)

Sophomore release from this Southern tinged hard rock band from Syracuse, NY. "Recipe for Disaster" continues where the first album left off. The riffs are simple, heavy and packed with groove and there is plenty of blazin' solos. I've read a few reviews on the net stating that Brand New Sin are a 'modern rock' band. I have to disagree with this label. While they aren't exactly a retro band, I'd say that "Recipe for Disaster" has more in common with bands like C.O.C., Fireball Ministry, Motorhead and even AC/DC than the radio oriented crap currently be labeled 'modern rock'. (BNS toured with Motorhead and C.O.C. as well.) At the same time, Brand New Sin has a slight Southern tinge to the music, although I think that influence was a bit more apparent in the fist album than this one. The drums are heavy, the guitars are crunchy, the vocals are tough, and the entire disc is just downright memorable and infectious.

Tequilla Brand New Sin - Tequila (Century Media) 2006

1. Said and Done" (4:33)
2. Did Me Wrong" (3:17)
3. Spare the Agony" (3:57)
4. Ice Man" (:33)
5. Proposition" (4:41)
6. Old" (4:10)
7. Worm Wh*re" (:36)
8. See the Sun" (3:30)
9. Motormeth" (3:00)
10. Numero Dos" (4:21)
11. Elogio" (1:09)
12. Reaper Man" (5:03)
13. Acehole" (:43)
14. House of the Rising Sun" (7:05)
15. "Crank It Up" [video clip]

New York hard rockers Brand New Sin return with their third full length album. As with their first and second album, if I didn't know better, I would swear that the band was out of Texas, rather than New York. Their style of heavy, hard rock has a fair share of Southern rock influence throughout. The album has a nice balance between fast, heavy songs, more mid-paced grooves and some slower soulful moments. But then what would you expect from a release with a big 'ol sombrero wearing, cigar smoking, skull on the cover. Southern fired metal indeed. I'd even go so far as to say that Brand New Sin is the twenty-first century answer to Blackfoot and Molly Hatchet. Both bands pioneered a sound that while still Southern rock, also incorporated heavy metal into the formula. Overall, the recording is raw, dry and gives the band a balance of modern sounds and classic rock. I've read a few complaints about the production on-line, but I can't really understand what the problem is. Frankly, it sounds good to me. Along with the thirteen new BNS tracks, we are also given a wicked cover of the Animals classic "House Of The Rising Sun." They give the song a twist of their own, but didn't change it so much from the original that it is unrecognizable from the original song. It should also be noted that Type O Negative's Peter Steele makes a guest appearance on "Reaper Man".

Back to Index