Classic heavy metal band from Ohio, US formed in 1982.
The band was named after the classic Accept album.

Get Tough! Breaker - Get Tough! (Auburn) 1987/2003

Get Tough!
1. "Lie To Me" (3:09)
2. "10 Seconds In" (4:21)
3. "Get Tough" (4:25)
4. "Razor's Edge" (3:00)
5. "Obsession" (5:49)
6. "Blood Money" (3:34)
7. "Black And White" (3:50)
8. "Behind Enemy Lines" (3:48)
9. "Wait For The Night" (4:43)
10. "From The Heart" (2:59)

Get Tougher!
11. "Standing In The Night" [demo] (4:41)
12. "Action" (4:34)
13. "Caught In Love" [demo] (3:10)
14. "Still Life" (3:17)
15. "Touch Like Thunder" (5:17)
16. "Dead In Your Tracks" [demo] (4:31)
17. "The Hurt" [demo] (4:39)
18. "Cold Air" [demo] (4:14)
19. "All Or Nothing" [live] (3:59)
20. "10 Seconds In" (4:18)
21. "Walking The Wire" (5:49)
22. "Blood Money" (3:57)
23. "Afraid Of The Dark" (5:37)
24. "From The Heart" [demo] (3:08)
25. "Entering Twilight" [demo] (3:16)
26. "No More Cries" [demo] (4:00)

Breaker are blistering American heavy metal! "Get Tough" has been on my want list for years. It was originally released in 1987 on vinyl and cassette and finally to CD in 2003, complete with a remastering makeover and a bonus disc of demos, singles, and compilation tracks. Breaker were originally formed in 1982, the band recorded "Get Tough!" in 1984, but it would not be released until 1987, apparently due to internal conflicts between singer Jim Hamar and the rest of the band. This internal conflict, and the delay in release, may have been responsible for taking a band that could have moved on to new heights and relegated them to underground, cult status instead. Some of these songs could have had some real commercial appeal, such as the catchy "10 Seconds In", the edgy, speed metal of "Razor's Edge" or the heavy, melodic title track. Regardless of it's success, or lack thereof, "Get Tough!" is a solid, traditional heavy metal album.

As for the bonus disc, the material here is just as enjoyable as the album itself. There is lots of meat to chew on. Of particular interest was the live Small Faces cover of "All Or Nothing". On of the cooler songs on here is "Touch Like Thunder" which was apparently on the original cassette version of "Get Tough", but was not on the vinyl version. This re-issue also sports a 28 page booklet with lyrics, biographical notes and photos.

Accept Breaker - Accept (Auburn Records) 1999

1. "Breaker" (3:41)
2. "Still Life" (3:28)
3. "10 Seconds In" (4:26)
4. "Action" (4:33)
5. "Life Of Crime " (4:05)
6. "Sleepless Nights" [demo] (5:00)
7. "unlisted track" (6:09)

At the suggestion of a good friend from Germany, I checked out this band that I was told was killer power metal. That description fits quite well. "Accept" is a killer power metal EP and a nice introduction to a band I will be checking more into. Fast, powerful songs, souring vocals, shredding guitar solos. What else can a metalhead ask for? "Breaker" is actually an Accept cover, and I imagine, where the band got their name. Tracks 1 through 3 are from the album "Get Tough!" Tracks 4 through 6 are unlisted tracks. The unlisted/hidden track starts off with several minutes of silence besides going into a silly rap thing.

Back to Index