Solo ventures of guitarist for Savatage, Doctor Butcher, Trans-Siberian Orchestra, amongst others.

Faces Chris Caffery - Faces/God Damn War (Black Lotus) 2004

1. "Alas" [instrumental] (1:33)
2. "Faces" (4:36)
3. "Fade Into The X" (5:13)
4. "Pisses Me Off" (5:25)
5. "Remember" (4:41)
6. "The Fall" (4:03)
7. "Music Man" (4:52)
8. "Life, Crazy Life!!!" (4:31)
9. "The Mold" (5:03)
10. "Bag O' Bones" (3:31)
11. "Evil Is As Evil Does" (3:19)
12. "Never" (6:43)
13. "So Far Today" (4:48)
14. "Jealousy" (6:05)
15. "Preludio" [instrumental] (4:56)
16. "Abandoned" (6:50)
1. "God Damn War" (6:33)
2. "Fool, Fool" (2:56)
3. "Edge Of Darkness" (4:09)
4. "Saddamize" (7:37)
5. "I" (4:31)
6. "Amazing Grace" (1:36)
7. "Piece Be With You" (5:53)
8. "Beat Me, You'll Never Beat Me" (5:59)
9. "Curtains" (3:13)

I have long been a fan of Savatage and loved Chris' work with Doctor Butcher. Chris' solo material here continues in much the same manner as Doctor Butcher. I sort of expected his solo work to venture outside the walls of heavy metal more, but that simply is not the case. There are some experimental parts scattered throughout. "Music Man" has a slight country feel to it and "Never" is a ballad. However songs like "Faces", "Fade Into the X", The Fall" and "Evil is As Evil Does" are just good, 'ol heavy metal. "Pisses Me Off" is an angry song that is also a bit humorous. This song would have fit perfectly on the Doctor Butcher CD. Chris also handles the vocal duties here and does a fine job at that, reminding me a bit of fellow Savatage member Jon Oliva. Disc Two is suppose to be all bonus material and pretty much continues with an onslaught of heavy material. Chris' band is made up of drummer Jeff Plate (Savatage/TSO bandmate), bassist Dave Z (TSO) and Paul Morris (ex-Rainbow/Doro). Fans longing for the old, pre-progressive days of Savatage should be pleased with this solo release from Chris.

WARPED Chris Caffery - W.A.R.P.E.D. (Black Lotus) 2005

1. "Home Is Where The Hell Is" (7:02)
2. "God Damn War" (6:34)
3. "Election Day" (2:34)
4. "Erase" (5:40)
5. "Fool, Fool!" (2:57)
6. "Edge Of Darkness" (4:10)
7. "Saddamize" (7:38)
8. "I" (4:32)
9. "Iraq Attack" (5:25)
10. "W.A.R.P.E.D." (3:37)
11. "State Of The Head" (5:35)
12. "Amazing Grace" (1:36)
13. "Piece Be With You" (5:54)
14. "Beat Me, You'll Never Beat Me" 6:00)
15. "Curtains" (3:13)

'W.A.R.P.E.D.' is basically the full-length version of the "God Damn War" album which was included as a bonus CD in the "Faces" album. There are six tracks here that weren't on the "God Damn War" CD, plus one 'bonus song' in the title track. As with "Faces" this album is heavy, angry and 100% guitar oriented heavy metal. With a description like "angry" some people may get the idea that "W.A.R.P.E.D." is some sort of modern rock or nu-metal. This simply is not the case. Those who dig the sounds of Chris' band Doctor Butcher, or even the early Savatage material, will also love this CD. Doctor Butcher/Savatage vocalist Jon Oliva even makes a guest vocal appearance on "Iraq Attack". All this is wrapped up in a digi-pack.

Back to Index