Creation of Death

Creation f Death Creation of Death - Purify Your Soul (Under One Flag/Music For Nations) 1991

1. "Overture" (2:17)
2. "Purify Your Soul" (4:59)
3. "Quartering Alive" (3:56)
4. "Nameless Forever" (3:45)
5. "Ingratitude" (5:30)
6. "By Truth, By Love" (3:45)
7. "Psalm 69" (4:45)
8. "Words" (3:43)
9. "Don't Be So Full of Pride" (2:55)
10. "You Arenít Possessed Yet" (4:34)
11. "Hope" (3:36)

A friend from Germany turned me onto this disc in 1999. The disc came out in '91. I had never even heard of Creation of Death, but knowing that I was a big fan of British thrash bands like Seventh Angel and Detritus, I guess he knew that I would dig this band as well. Creation of Death are not a carbon copy of those two bands, however. They are thrash metal but sometimes border early death metal reminding me slightly of Death. There are no blast beats and the guitar are not down tuned real low, however there is a death metal-like aggression. The music, on the other hand, is pure thrash metal; lots of speedy riffs, fast and furious guitar solos, mosh beats, double bass, etc. The vocals are somewhat growled not unlike many of the early 90's bands that were riding the fence between death metal and thrash metal. However, the vocals are also understandable. A very nice surprise. Unfortunately this was Creation of Death's one and only release before they split up.

Back to Index