New Found Power Damageplan - New Found Power (Elektra) 2004

1. "Wake Up" (4:29)
2. "Breathing New Life" (3:48)
3. "New Found Power" (3:25)
4. "Pride" (4:17)
5. "F*** You" (03:08)
6. "Reborn" (4:02)
7. "Explode" (3:13)
8. "Save Me" (3:34)
9. "Cold Blooded" (4:57)
10. "Crawl" (5:29)
11. "Blink Of An Eye" (4:18)
12. "Blunt Force Trauma" (4:56)
13. "Moment Of Truth" (6:50)
14. "Soul Bleed" (5:13)

I have never been a huge fan of Pantera, mostly because of Anselmo's filth. I have always had a respect for the band's sound and especially for Dimebag Darrell as a guitarist. I've kept up a bit wit the history of the band. Basically Pantera breaks up in two because Anselmo and the Darrell brothers can't get along anymore. Anslemo leaves and forms Superjoint Ritual, tours with Ozzfest and claims to be the "new metal god". Whatever! I saw them on this tour. They sucked! Whatever drug Anslemo was on made him sound like a babbling idiot. Dime went on to form Damageplan with his brother Vinnie Paul. I am actually sort or amazed. Dime is an incredible guitarist but, this sounds like your basic drop-D, chugga-chugga, boring mallcore. The inclusion of Slipknot vocalist Corey Taylor on one track further backs this opinion. Most of the guitar work on "New Found Power" sounds like it came directly out of a Drowning Pool or Slipknot disc. Dime is relying more on guitar distortion than on writing killer riffs or good songs. Compare the best song on this CD to anything on "Cowboys from Hell" and see if you don't agree that this CD just doesn't hold up. The vocals are typical of the average metalcore band as well. There are some moment where the vocals are decent, such as on the "Moment of Truth" where the mallcore scream is dropped for real singing. A few songs flirt with Pantera's groove such as the midpaced "Blunt Force Trauma" and the excellent melodic, acoustic, closing track "Soul Bleed". Also, "Moment of Truth" features a cool, melodic guitar solo from Dime laid over top of a Black Sabbath inspired guitar riff this is quite cool. Zakk Wylde appears on a few tracks as well, laying down some choice guitar licks. However, for the most part this CD is a big dissappointment, geared more towards the hordes of adolescents who frequent Hot Topic in the mall than it does true metal fans.

Back to Index