Nothing Left to Fear Destiny - Nothing Left To Fear (Active Records) 1991

1. "Nothing Left To Fear" (5:30)
2. "Medieval Rendezvous" (4:52)
3. "The Evil Trinity" (4:46)
4. "Sirens In The Dark" (5:57)
5. "Sheer Death" (4:14)
6. "F.Ö.S." (1:50)
7. "Beyond All Sense" (4:48)
8. "No Reservation" (3:51)
9. "The Raven" (3:45)
10. "Rest In Peace" (4:39)
11. "Du Gamla Du Fria" (:57)

This is real heavy metal! "Nothing Left to Fear" are Judas Priest, Iron Maiden and perhaps as bit of classic Virgin Steel inspired heavy metal with screaming, clean vocals, galloping guitar riffs, fast and furious guitar solos. This band doesn't rely on keyboards to create melody as is typical in power metal in the 90's. Rather, they rely on heavy guitars, strong songwriting and catchy musical and lyrical hooks. They do, however, incorporate some heavy metal clichés straight out of the 80's, especially in the vocals which are rather dark and poetic. That being said, I think the 80's image is what they were going for, so break out your denim, patch-clad vest, your leather pants and bullet belt and let the metal assault begin. This CD rocks!

The Undiscovered Country Destiny - The Undiscovered Country (GNW) 1998

1. "Devil In The Dark" (6:08)
2. "Wink Of An Eye" (4:30)
3. "The Undiscovered Country" (7:07)
4. "A Taste Of Armageddon" (6:26)
5. "By Any Other Way" (6:19)
6. "Balance Of Terror" (6:53)
7. "Tomorrow Is Yesterday" (5:10)
8. "Dagger Of The Mind" (7:50)

Destiny are galloping, heavy metal from Sweden! Destiny are one of those bands still carrying the flag for real heavy metal in a time when metal has become a mish-mash of styles. Each and every song is chock full of meaty guitar licks, clean, majestic vocals, soaring guitar solos, and catchy hooks. No where are the hooks more evident than in "Balance of Terror". Zenny Grram's vocals on the chorus of this song drew me in on the first listen. The epic "A Taste of Armegeddon" is another standout track. This song sports a mid-paced, ploding guitar crunch with a slight Black Sabbath influence and also some excellent guitar solos. While the band does stick to one style or writing, they have enough variety in tempo, emotion, etc. to keep the disc from getting boring,m although I do wish there were a few more fast numbers. Despite this minor complaint this is a very good CD.

Back to Index