"Death and Roll" from Finland.

Antithesis Deuteronomium-Tribal Eagle

1. "Crosshope" (3:49)
2. "Thinking" (4:40)
3. "Tribal Eagle" (3:19)
4. "Blue Moment" (4:29)

After releasing a terrible demo called "Crosshope," Finland's Deauteronomium regrouped and released this fabulous death metal disc. While only containing four songs, the quality of the material is excellent. The problem with the demo was that the band tried to mix to many styles of music into one song. This problem is gone on this self financed ep. Occasionally there are some hints of black metal, but for the most part, this is just good 'ol death metal. I liked this disc so much that I was prompted to purchase:

Street Corner Queen Deuteronomium-Street Corner Queen (Little Rose)

1. "Street Corner Queen" (3:00)
2. "Drug Lord" (2:13)
3. "Spell of Hell" (4:14)
4. "The Fall" (5:27)
5. "Empty Shell" (4:54)
6. "Human Nature" (6:37)
7. "Bonsai People" (5:21)
8. "Black Raven" (3:19)
9. "C.C.R." (4:09)
10. "III" (5:53)
11. "Northern Praise" (5:22)
12. "Blue Moment" (4:29)

Besides having some shining moments here and there, this disc is just to confused. The same problem the band had with it's "Crosshope" demo has crept in once again on this full length cd. Deuteronomium can't decide what they want to be, so they have labeled their music "Death 'n Roll." Whatever! I suppose this is their attempt at being innovative, creative, and/or different but the music on "Street Corner Queen" changes so drastically from song to song that there is no consistency whatsoever. There are a few excellent full-speed black metal numbers that the band does so well ("Spell of Hell"), but other songs attempt to mix in jazz parts, old school rock sections, punk, funk metal, etc. Other songs like "Empty Shell," sound more like attempts at newer Sentenced or Amorphis. Ocassionally someone attempts some really poor, monotone clean vocals as well. This disc is just totally unfocused and unlistenable. Gets my vote for the worst album cover art as well. Even the inside pages of the booklet are poorly done. This album was re-released a year later with the entire "Tribal Eagle" ep as bonus tracks and new "improved" cover art. The cover art on the re-release, however, is also cheesy.

Deuteronomium have released some other stuff after this, but they have continued in the corny "Death 'n' Roll" mode of "Street Corner Queen." I think I shall pass.

Back to Index