Fan the Flame Eden - Fan The Flame (Retroactive Records) 1994

1. "Need Somebody" (5:10)
2. "Show Me" (5:32)
3. "Morning Star" (5:23)
4. "Fan The Flame" (5:00)
5. "Tomorrow's Yesterday" (4:30)
6. "Forgotten Child" (6:02)
7. "Give Me A Reason" (4:57)
8. "It's A Shame" (3:32)
9. "Back To The Garden" (3:54)
10. "Love Rolls On" (5:35)

Kickass!!! Can this be said of a Christian band? Absolutely! Eden are a heavy metal throwback to the glory days of Ratt, Whitecross and especially Dokken. The funny thing is, the singer's name is Joe Dokken. Whether that be his real name or not, I do not know. Also, while the band's personnel is listed as: Mark Villareal Guitar, Curt Anderson Guitar, Joe Dokken Vocals, Dave Cotteleer Bass and Dave Tanis Drums, it is actually Rex Carroll (or Whitecross fame) who performs most of the guitar work here. Personalities aside, the music here is pretty solid; the music is well written, the hooks are meaty, the guitarwork is outstanding, and the production is good. Had songs like "Need Somebody" and "Show Me" been released in 1984 instead of 1994 these guys may have ruled the world. I suppose some will criticise saying that this band is playing an outdated style of music. However, any true fan of the music knows that good music is timeless and there is certainly nothing wrong with playing the music you love, rather than trying to "stay current" or trying to "be the next big thing". With that in mind, "Fan the Flame" is a solid CD. My particular copy is the 2004 Retroactive re-rleease.

Back to Index