Eternal Ryte

Eternal Ryte

World Requiem Eternal Ryte - World Requiem (Pure Metal) 1990

1. "Tightrope Dancer" (4:37)
2. "Requiem" (4:42)
3. "Someone to Love" (4:19)
4. "Say Hello" (4:48)
5. "The Killer" (3:06)
6. "Surrender" (4:02)
7. "On the Line" (3:42)
8. "You and Me" (5:01)
9. "The King" (5:14)
10. "No More Lies" (3:52)

I remember when this CD came out because I was on a strict "Christian music only" diet. I bought everything and anything that was labeled "Christian metal". "World Requiem" was similar in style to band's like Dokken, Mass, Stryper, Holy Soldier, etc. Eternal Ryte were unashamedly, 100%, Hollywood, big hair, heavy metal. This should have been right up my alley and would have been had it come out a year or two earlier. At the time I was focusing more on thrash metal. Bands like Believer, Sacrament, Deliverance and Vengeance Rising were my forté. Still I purchased this tape and gave it some playtime. I remember being disappointed with the overall production, especially compared to the band's demo from a year before which had a heavier, edgier sound. I hadn't listened to cassette tapes in some time, so it had been over a decade since I had last heard this album. Unfortunately after being able to listen to this album on CD, I still think the production is lacking and robs the band of the power they had. If they had only had a better recording this CD could have easily riveled the aforementioned band, as well as bands like Skid Row. Musically, this is L.A. metal at it's finest. Phil St. Vincent has a fine voice and Bobby Smith is a total shredder. Unfortunately this would be the only proper album this band would record. With some proper remastering, or oveall remixing, this CD would be killer. Songs like "Tightrope Dancer" are good as they are but would be even better with a beefier mix. Here's hoping that might happen someday.

In 2007 Roxx Productions in California was working on a 2-CD re-release of "World Requiem", along with a bunch of bonus material. Included on the remastered re-release will be the 1987 Anthem demo, as well as other rare material. Looking forward to that.

Two of the band members commented on this album at
From: Bobby Smith Date: February 19, 2004
I thought the guitar player kick ass. ha ha ha. Of course I would, I am the guitar player that formed said band. I do have say it was fun recording that record... I have done 3 more CD's since ER. I had formed a swing/rockabilly band in 1994-2001 called Jumpin' Jimes. "They Rock They Roll They Swing" came out in 1998. I did a CD with my current band called 18 Wheeler in 2001, and just released a 5 song live CD called 18 Wheeler "Live and 4 Shots In", all of which you can find at

From: Phil St Vincent Date: January 26, 2005
That critique was pretty much on the money. It was half fun making it (World Requiem) & the other half was sheer torture, as was evidence on the finished product. When one of the first things your producer tells you is that he really doesn't like LA bands you know it's gonna DID! Not as much fun recording for me as for Bob. Early AM vocal sessions that go 12-14 hours are not the way to record. It was fun being with my pals though. That will always be the thing I loved about making the CD.

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge
Bobby Smith


Eternal Ryte Eternal Ryte - Anthology (Roxx) 2007

World Requiem
1. "Tightrope Dancer" (4:28)
2. "Requiem" (4:40)
3. "Someone to Love" (4:18)
4. "Say Hello" (4:49)
5. "The Killer" (3:05)
6. "Surrender" (4:01)
7. "On the Line" (3:41)
8. "You and Me" (4:45)
9. "The King" (5:14)
10. "No More Lies" (3:55)
Anthem 1987 Demo
11. "Forever Free" (3:30)
12. "He’s a Killer (Version 2)" (3:04)
13. "No More Lies" (3:36)
14. "No Place to Hide" (4:03)
15. "Stand Up" (4:23)
16. "King of Kings" (5:37)
Unreleased 1986 Demo
1. "Intro" (:43)
2. "Armed for Action" (3:55)
3. "Fight for the Light" (3:09)
4. "He’s a Killer (Version 1)" (3:17)
5. "Quiet Times" (4:10)
6. "Run for your Life" (4:55)
7. "Winner’s Take All" (4:22)
Live Metal Mardi Gras
Record live on 9-12-87

8. "On The Line" [live] (3:19)
9. "Fight for the Light" [live] (3:20)
Live Metal Midnight III
Record live on 10-28-89

10. "Someone" [live] (4:01)
11. "Requiem" [live] (4:44)
Live Metal Meltdown
Record live on 6-16-90

12. "No More Lies" [live] (3:21)
13. "King of Kings" [live] (3:08)
14. "Tightrope Dancer" [live] (4:05)
Eternal Ryte
Eternal Ryte

An awesome collection containing the entire, remastered "World Requiem" album, along with both the band's demos and seven live tracks. Eternal Ryte are one of those band's who just couldn't seem to catch a break despite being an incredibly talented band. Coming out of the L.A. glam scene in the height of big hair mania, the band was playing a lot of the same clubs as the well known bands of the time. Unfortunately they left us with only two demos and the poorly recorded "World Requiem" CD. However, it's not production that makes or breaks a song. Despite a thin recording, songs like "Tightrope Dancer" and "The Killer" are prime songs. Had these songs had a beefier guitar sound and mix, as well as some decent label backing, Eternal Ryte easily could have been one of the big bands that came out of that scene in the 1980's. I was pleasantly surprised with the 1986 demo included on disc two. I expected it to be a basement recording with a boom box, but it's much better than that. It's raw and crunchy and has that classic 1980's sound. I had never heard this demo before this CD, so this was a nice addition. This collection pretty much contains everything the band ever recorded, including some unreleased live tracks and their unreleased 1986 demo. The booklet includes photos, a bio and a write up by Heaven's Metal's Jonathan Swank. The first one hundred pre-orders were autographed as well and came with an exclusive DVD.
Eternal Ryte
Mike Grato & Bobby Smith

Related Collections:
Recon | Deliverance

Back to Index