The band was formed by Juan Garcia upon the breakup of his previous band, Agent Steel. Upon the reformation of Agent Steel, Juan brought Karlos Medina with him.

Annihilation... Evildead - Annihilation of Civilization (Artillery) 1989

1. "Annihilation Of Civilization" (3:23)
2. "B.O.H.I.C.A." (4:16)
3. "F.C:I. / The Awakening" (5:31)
4. "Future Shock" (5:37)
5. "Gone Shooting" (5:36)
6. "Holy Trails" (4:44)
7. "Living Good" (4:20)
8. "Parracide" (3:18)
9. "Unauthorized Exploitation" (1:57)
10. "Rise Above" (3:33)
11. "Sloe-Death" (3:26)
12. "Run Again" (4:02)

An underground thrash metal classic finally re-issued! "Annihilation of Civilization" is yet another mish-mash of speed metal to come out of the second wave of thrash metal from California. Juan Garcia (guitars) who had also performed with such notable bands as Abattoir and Agent Steel, is the force behind much of the music here. Abattoir bassist Mel Sanchez is also along for the ride. Abattoir is probably a good comparison band here as well, although at times I hear a heavy Slayer influence as well. Chock full of speedy riffs, shredder solos, gang vocals, and those thrash-metal-polka beats. This re-issue contains three bonus tracks including "Rise Above", a Black Flag cover. The new insert contains a ton of live photos of the band as well.

Underworld Evildead - The Underworld (SPV / Steamhammer) 1991

1. "Intro (comshell 5)" (1:34)
2. "Global Warning" (3:14)
3. "Branded" (4:44)
4. "Welcome to Kuwait" (3:44)
5. "Critic / Cynic" (4:03)
6. "The Hood" (3:49)
7. "The Underworld" (4:35)
8. "He's a Woman, She's a Man" (3:20)
9. "Process Elimination" (3:50)
10. "Labyrinth of the Mind" (4:23)
11. "Reap What You Sow" (5:19)

"The Underworld" would be the last studio album for Evildead before they split, although the band would release a live CD titled "From the Depths of the Underworld". In anycase, as with the "Annihilization Of Civilization" this CD is should get any self respecting thrash fan up and moving. However, unlike the band's last CD, "The Underworld" is less speed metal influenced and more thrash in nature. In other words, that straight-ahead mosh riffage is present in just about every song. Unfortunately that makes for a slightly less memorable album. That is not to say that this CD sucks. The band manages to change up the tempos from song to song to keep it interesting, even if th songs themselves aren't immediately catchy. Songs like "Global Warning" contain plenty of choice riffs. "Branded" reminds me of Exodus with it's gang chorus and speedy delivery. (Actually this song reminds me a bit of "Brain Dead" by Exodus.) The bands' cover of the infectious Uli Roth-era Scorpions track "He's a Woman, She's a Man" is excellent. (Helstar also covered this song.) "The Hood" features a bizzare intro that sounds like it was done by Beavis & Butthead. Truly odd, which I suppose was the point. "Labyrinth of the Mind" is another standout cut, and probably my favorite on the disc. Lyrically the band tackles a lot of social and political issues, not unlike Sacred Reich. Overall, a solid slab of molten thrash metal. Perhaps this CD won't dethrone "Reign in Blood", "Kill 'Em All" or "Fabulous Disaster" as the kings of thrash, but still a welcome addition to any thrash fans collection.

Back to Index