Forced Entry was a thrash metal band from Seattle, USA. They formed in 1982 by two childhood friends named Tony Benjamins and Brad Hull who knew each other from a soccer team. They began their career by playing covers from bands like Kiss, Judas Priest and Iron Maiden. In 1984 Colin Mattson joined on drums. At this time they were going under the name Critical Condition. In April of 1987 they recorded their first demo called "All Fucked Up" and their second demo "Thrashing Helpess Down" followed in 1988. The second demo won them the Northwest Music Award for "Best Metal Band". In 1989 their debut album was recorded and released, followed by tours with Coroner / Atrophy and Sacred Reich / Obituary. After being dropped from Relativity Records and recording their self-financed EP "The Shore" in 1995 the band split up.

Uncertain Futhre The Shore Forced Entry-Uncertain Future/The Shore (Century Media) 1989/90

1. "Bludgeon" (4:34)
2. "Kaleidoscope of Pain" (4:20)
3. "A Look Through Glass" (4:06)
4. "Anaconda" (4:39)
5. "Octoclops" (4:57)
6. "Unrest They Find" (5:12)
7. "Morgulon" (5:12)
8. "Foreign Policy" (5:02)
9. "Miasma" (4:23)
10. "Sore" (5:29)
11. "Sole Train" (6:05)
12. "Licking My Wound" (3:38)

Finally somebody re-issued this album! Century Media did it right too, including as bonus tracks "The Shore" EP. "Uncertain" isn't quite what "As Above" is, but it's still good thrash in the Bay Area tradition. "The Shore" EP sounds like it could have been recorded during the "As Above" sesssions as the tunes are all in the same technical thrash mode.

As Above, So Below Forced Entry-As Above So Below (Relativity) 1991

1. "Bone Crackin' Fever" (5:52)
2. "Thunderhead" (4:11)
3. "Macrocosm, Microcosm" (4:33)
4. "Never a Know, But the No" (4:34)
5. "We're Dicks" (3:12)
6. "Apathy" (5:37)
7. "The Unextinguishable" (3:33)
8. "As of Yesterday" (5:18)
9. "When One Becomes Two" (5:27)
10. "How We Spent Our Summer Vacation" (2:52)

Wow! These guys were a late discovery for me, I didn't get this disc until almost nine years after it's release. Don't know how I missed them. Forced Entry are excellent thrash metal that would have, and probably did, stand up to anything Testament, Exodus, Vengeance Rising or any of the Bay Area bands were doing at the time. A few lame songs in the "We're Dicks" and "How We Spent Our Summer." Both are attempts at humor but just come off as rather silly. The rest of the album, however, is pure brilliance. Pinch harmonics are used everywhere to create a unique sound that is unmistakably Forced Entry. Unlike "Uncertain Future". this CD has not be repressed and is out of print. Found this one on the internet. Got it along with two other rare discs in exchange for one Rage of Angels disc. Quite the deal in my estimation.

Back to Index