Formicide Formicide (Due Process) 2006

1. "The Omen" (3:28)
2. "Perfect Race" (4:51)
3. "Them" (4:45)
4. "The Spell" (3:18)
5. "Frozen Death" (2:20)
6. "No Escape" (3:03)
7. "Await the Awakening" (3:54)
8. "Dead Man" (3:43)
9. "Prey to Pieces" (3:45)
10. "Dying System" (4:12)
11. "Platten #2" (4:12)
12. "Nocturnal Justice" (4:05)
13. "Prey to Pieces" (3:53)
14. "Dying System" (4:23)
15. "Scientific Alternative" (4:20)

Ahhhhhh, it's always great to discover classic gems like this. Formacide are a traditional thrash metal band from Boston. Until this compilation all the was available from Formicide were a handful of demos. However, Due Process Records released the complete Formicide discography on this one CD. Being that most of the material is demo material that was recorded on a shoestring budget in the mid-80's, the sound is surprisingly good. This is partly due to decent mastering. Considering that the songs aren't even taken from the master tapes, and are mastered from cassette copies, the sound quality isn't bad. The first two demos (tracks 1-8) sound the best, and the mastering job gives them a modern richness. The rest of the tracks vary in sound quality, but the songs themselves should have any self respecting thrasher smiling. There were so many great thrash bands in the late 80's that never were offered a label, and Formicide were one of them. These demos would annihilate actual albums by some other thrash bands. Considering that Boston was home to bands like Wargasm, Meliah Rage, it's hard to believe that Formicide went unnoticed. The vocals are of the shouted variety that falls somwhere between Tom Araya, Steve “Zetro” Souza and Billy Milano. Tracks 1-4 are from the 1987 Demo and tracks 5-8 from the 1988 demo "Demo II". The additional tracks were all recorded in 1989 and were never released. Break out the tight blue jeans, white high tops, denim patch clad vest and your vintage Metallica "Ride the Lighting" t-shirt. It's time to thrash!

Back to Index