Hughes Turner Project

Hughes Turner Project Hughes Turner Project (MTM Music) 2002

1. "Devil's Road" (5:45)
2. "You Can't Stop Rock N' Roll" (4:45)
3. "Missed Your Name" (5:09)
4. "Mystery of the Heart" (5:57)
5. "Sister Midnight" (5:03)
6. "Better Man" (5:29)
7. "Heaven's Missing an Angel" (7:10)
8. "Fade Away" (6:55)
9. "Ride the Storm" (3:53)
10. "Run Run Run" (3:54)
11. "Against the Wall" (4:36)
12. "On the Ledge" (7:12)

Surprisingly good collaboration from two legendary singers. I imagine that these two singers met each other while in rehab trying to get over having spent time with one of the biggest egos in the music business, Ritchie Blackmore. Of course Joe Lynn Turner also worked with Yngwie Malmsteen, so Blackmore may have met his match there, as far as egos go. Of course Glenn Hughes use to be the singer/bassist for Deep Purple while Joe Lynn Turner was the singer for Rainbow for a spell. Together they create one infectious and memorable AOR disc. The production is outstanding, as is the songwriting and musicianship. This is in part due to the inclusion of several very well known guest musicians, including guitarist Paul Gilbert and ex-Thin Lizzy/Whitesnake axeman John Sykes. Besides co-singing on every song but one, Glenn Hughes also plays bass on much of the album. Joe Lynn Turner performs all the vocals on "Mystery of the Heart" and Glenn performs all the vocals on "Heaven's Missing An Angel." Otherwise the rest of the songs are all duets with both singers giving it their all. Once again, I am astounded that this project is so good.

2 Hughes/ Turner Project - 2 (MTM Music) 2003

1. "Revelation" (4:09)
2. "Alone I Breathe" (4:15)
3. "Losing My Head" (5:28)
4. "Going My Way" (4:26)
5. "Hold On" (5:28)
6. "Lost Dreams" (6:35)
7. "Time & Time Again" (5:46)
8. "Goodbye Friday" (4:58)
9. "Burning The Sky" (6:14)
10. "Sofia" (4:47)
11. "Lets Talk About It Later" (5:54)

Yet another solid hard rock album from two of rock's best vocalists. Everything here is in place, as it was on the first disc. The production is crisp, the guitars loud, the songs are chock full of meaty hooks and killer harmonies. As might be expected the music brings to mind classic bands like Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Whitesnake and Rainbow. (Sounds trite, but it's true.) Standout tracks are the rockin' album opening "Revelation", "Buring the Sky", the bluesy "Time & Time Again" and the unforgettable "Alone I Breathe."

Soullfully Live Hughes Turner Project - Live In Tokyo (SPV) 2000

1. "Devil's Road" (6:12)
2. "You Can't Stop Rock'n'Roll" (4:45)
3. "Death Alley Driver" (4:22)
4. "I Surrender" (4:11)
5. "Stormbringer" (4:41)
6. "Dark Days" (3:58)
7. "Mistreated" (9:16)
8. "Can't Stop The Flood" (3:41)
9. "Better Man" (6:00)
10. "Ride The Storm" (4:04)
11. "King Of Dreams" (6:45)
12. "Street Of Dreams" (5:01)
13. "Spotlight Kid" (5:09)

I must be a complete Glenn Hughes fan because as far as I hear, everything the man puts his voice to is simply incredible! Joe Lynn Turner is an equally great vocalist. The Glenn Hughes/Joe Lynn Turner Project studio CD was a fantastic collaboration, and this live CD from that tour is just as fantastic. Recorded live in front of an enthusiastic Japanese crowd, Glenn, Joe and a host of Japanese musicians pull out a nice set of cuts from the HTP collaboration, as well as from both men's former bands. I was surprised to see "Death Alley Driver" from Rainbow's "Straight Between the Eyes". For some reason I expected a more predictable choice like "Stone Cold". Other Rainbow tracks include "Street of Dreams" from "Bent Out of Shape" and "I Surrended" from "Difficult to Cure" included here. There are several excellent Deep Purple songs as well. These were a bit more predictible, including "Stormbringer" and an extended jam version of "Mistreated". I must have some 20 different live versions of this song now. Still, these are excellent, classic songs from Deep Purple. The HTP material holds up well to this classic material too. "Devil's Road" and "You Can't Stop Rock 'n' Roll" are equally impressive. It's a shame tours like this aren't successful in America. This would have been a killer show to have experienced. The CD also contains a bonus studio track titled "Against the Wall".

Related Collections:
Glenn Hughes | Rainbow | Deep Purple

Back to Index