Take What You Want Hurricane - Take What You Want (Caroline) 1985

1. Take Me In Your Arms (4:05)
2. The Girls Are Out Tonight (3:28)
3. Take What You Want (3:32)
4. Hurricane (3:25)
5. It's Only Heaven (6:39)
6. Hot and Heavy (3:35)
7. I'm On To You (3:26)
8. Baby Snakes (3:48)
9. Over the Edge (4:43)
10. La Tuna [instrumental] (1:20)

Hurricane's debut EP was originally released in 1985 on Enigma Records. The band spent a lot of time touring with label mates Stryper, who were selling out stadiums by 1985. Many thought that Hurricane would be one of the next big bands. The band itself featured guitarist Robert Sarzo, brother of Quiet Riot/Ozzy Osbourne bassist Rudy Sarzon and bassist Tony Cavazo, brother of Quiet Riot's Carlos Cavazo, as well as Kelly Hansen on vocals. Emerging from the same L.A. scene as Stryper, Motley Crue, Ratt, and Quiet Riot, Hurricane had a slicker sound than any of those bands. Their style was more along the lines of Guiffria/House of Lords. The songs are all catchy and aren't overly produced, which was the case with a lot of similar styled bands at the time. The guitars retain their edge without being bogged down by overbearing keyboards. As might be expected, the axework is absolutely stellar. Sarzo shreds away on all tracks with some superb guitar solos. I can easily see how Hurricane attracted major label interest in '85.

In addition to the original six songs, the Caroline CD reissued includes early versions of three songs from Hurricane's second album "Over the Edge"; "I'm On To You", "Baby Snakes", and "Over the Edge". As well there is a brief instrumental track called "L.A. Luna" that was supposedly on the original limited edition pressing of the CD. The CD comes housed in a mini-LP style package. It's essentially a slightly oversized cardboard sleeve with the disc enclosed in an interior envelope.

Over The Edge Hurricane - Over the Edge (Enigma) 1988

1. "Over the Edge" (5:35)
2. "I'm Eighteen" (4:15)
3. "I'm on to You" (3:53)
4. "Messin' With a Hurricane" (5:04)
5. "Insane" (3:48)
6. "We Are Strong" (4:42)
7. "Spark in My Heart" (4:55)
8. "Give Me an Inch" (4:16)
9. "Shout" (4:46)
10. "Baby Snakes" (4:29)

Yes, I know, this is the type of "corporate metal" that every true metalhead should hate. However, I don't! I quite like this CD and this band. "Over the Edge" is an overall, well-written, well-rounded rock 'n roll record. Besides, anyone who would do a blues cover of Alice Cooper and put it #2 on their disc is all right in my book. Absolutely killer cover of this Cooper classic, right down to the keyboard ending. Hurricane even used Cooper producer Bob Ezrin on this disc. Kelly Hansen has a solid, smooth, rock 'n' roll voice. At times he reminded me of Gary Moore. Robert Sarzo, brother of Quiet Riot's Rudy Sarzo pulls off some smokin' solos and writes some pretty tasty licks. Tony Cavazo, brother of Quiet Riot's Carlos Cavazo, along with drummer Jay Schellen are a solid rhythm section as well. Stylistically, I would compare these guys to Guiffria, Bonfire, or even more recent Pretty Maids. Hurricane have a distinct L.A./Hollywood strip attitude that is absent from those bands, but the style is similar. Album opener "Over The Edge" rocks pretty hard and is one of my favorite songs on the disc. "Insane" is a very cool, slick, blues-based glam rocker complete with a harmonica/guitar duo. "Baby Snakes" is an amusing song that is pretty humorous. I believe "I'm on to You" was this single for this record. This song has a memorable, sing along chorus. It's a shame that this single didn't get them more attention. However, this album did garner Hurrican a tour with Stryper, who were the labels top band at the time.

Slave to the Thrill Hurricane - Slave to the Thrill (Enigma) 1990

1. "Reign of Love" (4:48)
2. "Next to You" (3:37)
3. "Young Man" (3:53)
4. "Dance Little Sister " (4:52)
5. "Don't Wanna Dream" (5:06)
6. "Temptation" (3:13)
7. "Ten Thousand Years" (5:45)
8. "In the Fire" (1:06)
9. "Let it Slide" (3:29)
10. "Lock me Up" (4:37)
11. "Smiles Like a Child" (3:42)

Exit guitarist Robert Sarzo, enter guitar shredder Doug Aldrich. The sound here is a bit more generic than "Over the Edge", but still quite enjoyable. Actually, as with "Over the Edge", I quite like it. The songs are melodic, the guitar work is spectacular, the vocals are excellent and overall, this is just an underappreciated band. This CD was released with two different covers. The cover pictured above is the edited version. The other cover has that same funky looking machine only there is a scantily clad woman laying on top of it. Drummer Jay Schellen went on to form Sircle of Silence with David Reece and Larry Farkas.

Liquify Hurricane - Liquifury (Frontiers) 2001

1.   Intro (1:11)
2.   River Gold (4:04)
3.   New God (5:00)
4.   Heart Made of Stone (6:07)
5.   It's Your Life (4:37)
6.   Happy to Be Your Fool (5:58)
7.   Bleed for Me (4:31)
8.   Shelter (4:16)
9.   In My Dreams (5:11)
10. Torn (5:38)
11. Shine (3:35)

After a long, long absence Hurricane return with an altered line up now in 2001. The new Hurricane features members vocalist Kelly Hansen (vocals, guitars, keyboards) and drummer Jay Schellen who are joined by bass player Larry Antonio guitarists Sean Manning and Carlos Villalobos. Apparently the album began as a Kelly Hansen solo record, but eventually evolved into a comeback for Hurricane. The overall sound is exactly what anyone would expect from Hurricane being melodic hard rock, sometimes bordering on heavy metal, moreso on this record than on past records. The production here is less glossy than their 80's output and has an overall tougher, grittier and slightly harder sound. I read some reviews on some AOR and melodic metal sites that make claim of the album being "too dark", but there really isn't anything dark about this album. It's just straight-forward, guitar-heavy rock and roll with Hansen delivering some solid and hook-laden vocal melodies.


Back to Index