I Mother Earth

Atonement I Mother Earth - Dig (Capitol) 1993

1. "The Mothers" (2:34)
2. "Levitate" (4:57)
3. "Rain Will Fall" (5:18)
4. "So Gently We Go" (7:04)
5. "Not Quite Sonic" (5:54)
6. "Production" (4:00)
7. "Lost My America" (6:30)
8. "No One" (6:56)
9. "Undone" (5:07)
10. "Basketball" (5:12)
11. "And the Experience" (5:54)
12. "The Universe In You" (8:19)

I Mother Earth are a Canadian band who's style is hard to define. When I posted on a couple of boards asking for a description, the best I could get was that they were, "Poetic Canadian Alternative, Psychedelic, Rock, Funk, Heavy Metal." So I thought to myself, "well,that tells me absolutely nothing." That is, until I finally got to heard "Dig." Now I can see that this description is actually pretty accurate. The band is not that depressing grunge crap that was dominating the airwaves in the 90's, nor is it a throw back to the 80's. I Mother Earth manage to capture a melodic sound without losing their aggressive edge, not unlike King's X, although I Mother Earth sound nothing like King's X. Lots of 70's influenced guitar jams, which is what actually held my interest in this disc. "The Mothers" even has that trippy the Doors vibe going on. I can't say that this is my favorite style of music, but it was a good listen and I can't see myself putting it in for a change of pace from time to time over the years.

Back to Index