The Nature of Depravity Inversion - The Nature of Depravity (independent) 2001

1. "Apocalyptic" (2:30)
2. "Darkened by Hatred" (2:52)
3. "Unsung Hero" (3:57)
4. "If Not Emasculated" (4:10)
5. "Sex With Death" (3:15)
6. "Thieves" (3:59)
7. "Defilement" (2:05)
8. "Independency" (5:34)
9. "Salt Solution Homicide" (2:24)
10. "Tears of Blood From an Angel in the Mourning" (2:29)
11. "The Butchering of Relative Thinking" (5:44)
12. "Damnation Undone" (1:08)
13. "Reflection (silence)" (:22)
14. "Resolution" (1:26)
15. "Stillborn Piety" [demo] (7:59)
16. "Upheld" [demo] (5:08)
17. "Night Falls" [demo] (1:32)
18. "Without Excuse" (2:27)

It's rare that I find a death metal disc that I like these days. To me it all sounds like cookie cutter duplicates of each other. It's even rarer that I find an indie death metal cd that I like because the production usually is unbearable. Inversion is surprisingly well produced, being mixed and recorded by Eternal Decision's Kirk Campbell. The only small complaint I have is the obvious sameness of the drums, which is most likely attributed to either triggers or a drum machine. Considering how fast and perfect the double bassing is, I think this may have been a necessity. Anyhow, this cd is excellent death metal with loads of killer riffs and guitar abuse. The vocals are ok, but of the same cookie monster on crack variety that every other band has. This has always been my trouble with death metal. There are some clean vocals on this disc as well.

Back to Index