Iron Fire - Thunderstorm (Noise/T&T) 2000

1. "The Final Crusade" (4:36)
2. "When The Heroes Fall" (4:48)
3. "Rise Of The Rainbow" (4:20)
4. "Metal Victory" (4:19)
5. "Thunderstorm" (4:45)
6. "Behind The Mirror" (4:25)
7. "Warriors Of Steel" (6:34)
8. "The Battle Of Freedom" (4:58)
9. "Glory To The King" (4:56)
10. "Angel Of Light" (4:47)
11. "Until The End" (3:54)
12. "Riding Free" (4:50)

Fast and furious heavy metal that falls within the Hammerfall/Nocturnal Rites school of heavy/speed metal. I read another review that compared these guys to Running Wild and that is an accurate description as well, especially in the style of rhythm playing. However, this disc has less of a German flavor as Running Wild and is much closer to the Hammerfall style. Along with the speedy guitar riffs and steady double bassing, Iron Fire bring together some nice melodic guitar solos and memorable vocal melodies as well. I think the bands only downfall is vocalist Martin Steene's thick accent and the odd enunciation he uses. It actually took me a couple of listens to get past the vocals, but once I gave it those few extra spins, I quite enjoyed it. Iron Fire certainly have not come up with anything revolutionary, but being that I enjoy this galloping style of power metal, I really don't care. Long live true metal!

Back to Index