Out to Every Nation Jorn Lande - Out to Every Nation (AFM Records) 2004

1. "Young Forever" (4:53)
2. "Out to Every Nation" (4:22)
3. "Something Real" (5:40)
4. "Living With Wolves" (3:53)
5. "Vision Eyes" (4:11)
6. "One Day We Will Put Out the Sun" (6:25)
7. "Behind the Clown" (4:15)
8. "Rock Spirit" (4:36)
9. "Through Day and Night " (4:43)
10. "When Angel Wings Were White" (4:31)

Jorn is well known for his work with Masterplan and Ark. On "Out of Every Nation", Jorn's third solo album, Lande doesn't stray far from what fans of his former bands would like. Guitarist Jorn Viggo is from the power/prog band Pagan's Mind. On bass is Magnus Rosen from Hammerfall. However, "Out of Every Nation" isn't power metal or prog metal. Rather, this is melodic hard rock with a metal edge. Jorn Lande is nearly a carbon copy of David Coverdale. Not only does he have a strikingly similar style and sound, but even some of his lyrics and phrasings remind me of Coverdale's past work. Throughout this CD your hear Whitesnake/Deep Purple lyrics: "I was baptised in the storm", "Rainbow shaker on a...", etc.. That's not to say that this album sounds like a carbon copy of Whitesnake or Deep Purple, however. "Out of Every Nation" isn't 70's hard rock, nor does it sound like the pop metal Whitesnake dabbled with in the 80's. Rather, this is solid, heavy, melodic metal with crunchy, heavy guitar tones and pounding bass and drums. The songs are catchy, without sounding overly pop. The production is crisp, without taking away the ranchy rock and roll vibe. Mixed together with Jorn's impassioned vocals, this is an excellent listen. This album, which comes complete with cover art depicting a preening Lande inexplicably hoisting an American flag. The European version has a Norwegian flag.

The Duke Jorn Lande - The Duke (AFM Records) 2006

1. "We Brought the Angels Down" (4:28)
2. "Blacksong" (5:36)
3. "Stormcrow" (3:42)
4. "End of Time" (4:14)
5. "Duke of Love" (4:32)
6. "Burning Chains" (3:49)
7. "After the Dying" (5:00)
8. "Midnight Madness" (4:21)
9. "Are You Ready" (3:04)
10. "Starfire" (5:25)

Jorn Lande seems to be on the top of most melodic rock fan's lists these days. His voice reminds me of a young David Coverdale (Deep Purple/Whitesnake). Jorn's powerhouse vocals combined with slick, heavy, melodic rock is a winning combination for sure. The opening track "We Brought the Angels Down" could easily have been on a Dio album. This is a classic heavy metal song with a doomy feel. "Stormcrow" has a riff that reminds me of Zakk Wylde. "Blacksong" and "Burning Chains" have that heavy, Whitesnake vibe. Likewise, "Burning Chains" is a ballad that would sounds amazingly like a Coverdale composition. This is especially true when you add in Lande's Coverdale-esque vocal performance on this track. "Are You Ready" is a Thin Lizzy cover, and a fine choice of covers at that. It was actually hearing another Thin Lizzy cover by Lande that peaked my interest in his solo material. The production overall is outstanding. The guitars are heavy, the bass is pounding and Jorn's vocals aren't overbearing in the mix, as might be expected from a solo project. Those who enjoy straight forward 1970's heavy metal, and those who enjoy melodic hard rock would do themselves well to check this CD out.

Back to Index