Kik Tracee
K I K ..T R A C E E
Kik Tracee formed in 1988 in Los Angeles, CA, USA by Stephen Shareaux (vocals), Michael Marquis (guitar), Gregory Hex (guitar), Rob Grad (bass) and Johnny Dougas (drums). Unfortunately they rode in at the tail end of the "hair" metal movement, and didn't stand a chance with the invasion of alternative and grunge. The debut was produced by Dana Strum of Slaughter fame who called the band a cross between Living Colour, The Cult and Guns N' Roses. The final release was an EP produced by Chris Goss of Masters Of Reality. A second full length album was recorded but rejected by their label and never released. Eventually the band fell apart. Stephen Shareaux has a new psychadelic band called Revel 8 while Grad is currently fronting the band Superfine.

No Rules Kik Tracee - No Rules (RCA) 1991

1. "Don't Need Rules" (3:18)
2. "Mrs. Robinson" (4:35)
3. "You're So Strange" (4:36)
4. "Trash City" (4:46)
5. "Hard Time" (4:24)
6. "Big Western Sky" (4:53)
7. "Generation Express" (6:21)
8. "Soul Shaker" (4:31)
9. "Tangerine Man" (4:46)
10. "Lost" (4:58)
11. "Velvet Crush" (3:44)
12. "Rattlesnake Eyes" (4:06)
13. "Romeo Blues" (4:46)
14. "Fade Dunaway" (:41)

I actually discovered these guys by reading through The Collector's Guide to Heavy Metal by Martin Poppoff. Usually Martin is pretty brutal on pop metal bands like this, but for some reason Martin gave glowing reviews to Kik Tracee prompting me to look into them a bit more. "No Rules" is actually a good commercial, melodic metal release with quality, hook-laden song writing. The disc was produced by Slaughter's Dana Strum, so there is obviously some of Slaughter's influence on this disc, however, Kik Tracee have a slightly dirtier sound like Faster Pussycat, Britny Fox or L.A. Guns. Unfortunately, despite releasing such a strong album and, from what I have read, creating a MTV buzz, Kik Tracee were soon a victim to the depressing grunge scene of the mid-90's, when heavy metal, hair spray and talent became passť.

Field Trip Kik Tracee - Field Trip EP (RCA) 1992

1. "Outta My Bed" (4:23)
2. "Field Trip" (6:26)
3. "In Trance" (4:26)
4. "Walking With A Dead Girl" (6:26)
5. "Drop In THe Ocean" (4:20)
6. "Blood Brother" (6:35)

Wow! Impressive album for an EP. Kik Tracee steps it up a notch from their debut in the songwriting department. It's a shame that grunge knocked this type of good time rock 'n' roll out of the water and Kik Tracee never got the recognition they deserve. I can imagine their follow-up to this EP would have been spectacular. This 34-minute, six song EP has everything from heavy metal to funk, and even some endearing acoustic moments. The album starts off with a choice hair metal rocker called "Outta My Bed". The very next track, "Field Trip," is bluesy, acoustic, sing-along romp that contrasts nicely with the heavier opening track. Other songs, like "Drop in the Ocean" also have that bluesy, acoustic Led Zeppelin vibe as well. This EP was recorded in Los Angeles at the same time as the L.A. riots. According to the liner notes, this really scared the crap out of the band. The liner notes say, "These songs were recorded with the intention of taking you to another place - hopefully a better place, so sit back, relax, and enjoy the field trip." Unfortunately this EP is out-of-print and difficult to find. Thanks for the hook-up James.


Back to Index