K-Octave ......

American heavy metal featuring ex-Oracle vocalist Shawn Pelata , October 31 guitarist Brian 'Hellstorm' Williams, former Obey Bizar drummer Tom Berry, guitarist Jason Tedder, and ex- Deviant bassist Cliff Paul.

Outer Limits K-Octave - Outer Limits (Hellion) 2001

  1. "Breakneck" (3:49)
  2. "Frozen In Dementia" (3:31)
  3. "Authenticate" (4:36)
  4. "Outer Limits" (5:44)
  5. "Crumble" (6:01)
  6. "Mental Conspiracy" (4:05)
  7. "Descending Existence" (4:53)
  8. "Who Laughs Last" (5:28)

My original interest in this band stemmed from the fact that ex-Oracle vocalist Shawn Pelata is their vocalist. Shawn has a great classic metal voice, which works out great since K-Octave play crunchy, powerful heavy metal. From the look of the cover art and the title of the disc, the band may be misunderstood to be a progressive metal band, but make no mistake, K-Octave are balls-to-the-wall, in-your-face power metal. Occassionally the band throws some other influences into the mix as well, like on 'Mental Conspiracy" which pushes the boundries of speed and thrash metal. What also sets them apart from many in the modern power metal movement is their ability to write a solid song and to make each song stand out on it's own. Of course having a vocalist who could hold his own with the likes of Ray Alder (Fates Warning) or Michael Vescera (Yngwie Malmsteen/Loudness) doesn't hurt either.

Back to Index