Formed in Kentucky in 1982 by the Cook brothers Eric and Glen, Lethal are often accused of being a Queensryche clone but are in facta fine, melodic progressive metal band. The band released two albums that received solid reviews before changing styles on their third release "Poison Seed" and eventually disbanning.

Programmed Lethal - Programmed (Metal Blade) 1990

1. "Fire In Your Skin" (5:39)
2. "Programmed" (4:03)
3. "Plan Of Peace" (2:59)
4. "Another Day" (6:17)
5. "Arrival" (4:24)
6. "What They've Done" (5:44)
7. "Obscure The Sky" (3:59)
8. "Immune" (4:59)
9. "Pray For Me" (3:10)
10. "Killing Machine" (5:36)

Metal Blade has released so much quality metal over the years that some of their bands get burried. Lethal is one such band. "Programmed" is a fantastic, melodic metal album with some slight progressive tendencies. Basically the album would fall into the same class of metal as Siam, Crimson Glory, Recon and early Queensryche. Vocalist Tom Mallicoat has one of those smooth high voices that people often associate with Geoff Tate of Queensryche. However, Tom's voice would never be mistaken for Tate, rather he sings in a higher register. At times he reminds me of David Taylor of Jacob's Dream, a band whose first Metal Blade album would be released in 2000. The songwriting here travels goes in a direction most people wish Queensryche would have followed after "The Warning". "Programmed" sits squarely in the heavy metal category. The songs are heavy, catchy and memorable, thanks in part to the wonderful vocal melodies and superb guitar licks.

Back to Index