American Speed Metal that attained a decent following throughout the 80's, helping to inspire a generation of power metal bands. The band's second vocalist Joe Comeau also played with Overkill and was last seen, singing for Annihilator. Together they only released three albums, the best of which was their last.

Freedom's Rise Liege Lord - Freedom's Rise (Old Metal) 1985

1. "Prodigy" [instrumental] (1:05)
2. "Weilding Iron Fists" (3:13)
3. "Darktale" (3:34)
4. "Amnesty" (3:27)
5. "Rage of Angels" (4:15)
6. "Vials of Wrath" (4:41)
7. "Warriors Farwell" (4:07)
8. "For the King" (4:24)
9. "Legionaire" (3:51)
Andy Michaud

Liege Lord's acclaimed first disc from 1985. This disc features original vocalist Andy Michaud, who sings in a much higher key than Joe Comeau, who took over for Andy in 1988. I still haven't decided which singer I like better. "Freedom's Rise" is fast, powerful heavy metal with smoking lead work and loads of double bass. The music is obviously very influenced by the NWOBHM bands, but also on the early 80's metal scene that was growing by leaps and bounds by this time in the U.S. Nice cover art with tons of photos, showing the band in their various incarnations throughout the 80's. This disc was also re-released in Japan on Black Dragon Records.

Burn to My Touch Liege Lord - Burn to My Touch (Metal Blade) 1987

1. "Transgressor" (3:20)
2. "Birds of Prey" (2:57)
3. "Cast Out" (3:05)
4. "Portrait of Despair" (2:58)
5. "Black Lit Nights" (4:06)
6. "The Manicís Mask" (2:56)
7. " Legend" (3:39)
8. "Walking Fire" (3:07)
9. "Speed of Sound" (4:32)

Yet another classic heavy metal album, very similar in style to "Freedom's Rise" or even the first two Laaz Rockit discs. Their sophomore release once again features original vocalist Andy Michaud. This particular disc is from Metal Blade Germany. Picked it up on eBay for around $5.

Master Control Liege Lord - Master Control (Metal Blade) 1988

1. "Fear Itself" (4:27)
2. "Eye of the Storm" (4:17)
3. "Master Control" (5:09)
4. "Kill the King" (3:45)
5. "Soldier's Fortune" (3:04)
6. "Feel the Blade" (3:33)
7. "Broken Wasteland" (4:15)
8. "Rapture" (4:27)
9. "Suspicion" (3:31)
10. "Fallout" (5:46)

Excellent American speed/power metal. This one originally came out in 1988, but was re-released by Metal Blade in 1998. This version of the band reunited in '98 and played the Wacken Festival in Germany in 2000. Would have liked to have seen that. After owning this discs for a few years, I can still say that it frequents my cd player. As a matter of fact, after playing it through one day in January 2001, I began as search for the rest of their catalogue. "Kill the King" is a Dio-era Rainbow cover.

Back to Index