Black Out in the Red Room Love/Hate - Black Out in the Red Room (Columbia ) 1990

1. Blackout in the Red Room (2:33)
2. Rock Queen (2:21)
3. Tumbleweed (3:31)
4. Why Do You Think They Call it Dope? (3:57)
5. Fuel to Rum (3:18)
6. One More Round (3:22)
7. She's An Angel (4:09)
8. Mary Jane (4:31)
9. Straightjacket (3:15)
10. Slutsy Tipsy (3:09)
11. Slave Girl (3:51)
12. Hell, Ca., Pop. 4 (2:45)

I really don't know how I missed this band back in the day. Their sound is absolutely infectious and I have long loved bands like Dangerous Toys, Dirty Looks, Guns 'n' Roses, etc.. That is exactly the school of American hard rock that these guy come from; pure, sleazy, hard driving, rock and roll. My first exposure to Love/Hate was their second album, which I suppose is why it's been my favorite of their catalog thus far. However, this debut isn't far behind. Whereas that disc had a bit more punk like fury, this one is funky and sounds like it was straight of the Sunset Strip clubs in the 80's. Jizzy Pearl's raspy vocals are charismatic and really bring the songs to life. This is aided by some funky bass work from Skid. Ted Nugent says, "It's all about the attitude." "Black Out in the Red Room" is chock full of that rock and roll cocky attitude. Every twisted lyric, every note on the bass, every solo in every song reeks of this attitude. It smells like sweat, beer, smoke, sex and rock and roll. Attitude without hook, however, is useless. I can guarantee that this one carries more hooks than a loaded tackle box. I know I'm hooked. (thanks Vexor6)

Wasted in America Love/Hate - Wasted in America (Columbia) 1992

1. Wasted in America (3:45)
2. Spit (2:55)
3. Miss America (3:29)
4. Cream (4:28)
5. Yucca Man (2:56)
6. Happy Hour (3:29)
7. Tranquilizer (3:55)
8. Time's Up (3:39)
9. Don't Fuck With Me (3:26)
10. Don't Be Afraid (4:33)
11. Social Sidewinder (3:35)
12. Evil Twin (4:00)

After thoroughly ingesting "Wasted in America" I came to the conclusion that Love/Hate are one of the most underrated bands in existence. I don't know if it was timing, marketing, lack of radio play , the crappy cover art, or what it was but Love/Hate should have been every bit as popular as bands like LA Guns and Faster Pussycat, if not as popular as Guns 'n Roses. "Wasted in America" is pure, sleazy, American rock and roll and is, in my opinion, one of the finest albums the genre has produced. Yes, "Wasted in American" could have usurped "Appetite for Destruction" had the circumstances been right.

The first four tracks could be the blue print on how to write a catchy sleaze metal song. All of the songs easily etched into the brain of the listener. "Wasted in America" is a catchy as anything that came off the Hollywood strip in the 80's. However, it gets even better as "Yucca Man", Happy Hour" and "Tranquilizer" are three of the best songs on the disc. Yucca Man" and Happy Hour" are heavy rockers in which the band just plays their collective butts off. "Tranquilizer" starts off as a more melodic, bluesy based song and builds to a heavy rocker. The three songs just seem to fit together as one entity. Vocalist Jizzy Pearl has one of the most ridiculous voices I've ever heard on record, yet somehow his cocky attitude and punk delivery work perfectly for this band's style. Really the only pooch in the pound is "Don't Fuck With Me", a schlocky, acoustic track with an odd title but a solid message. "We can be brothers but wear our different colors too".

The whole package is delivered with a punk like fury. Each and every song being the bastard stepson of the next. Each song possessing a killer hook that will pull you in and drag you to the gutter. Despite the obvious pop hooks, the band writes some crazy riffs and possesses a metallic force that other band's typically labeled sleaze metal don't possess.

Let's Eat Love/Hate - Let's Eat (Perris Records) 1999

1. It Could Happen To Me (3:00)
2. Don't Play Your Guitar When You're Talkin' To Me (4:03)
3. Uncle Said (3:27)
4. Ratboy (3:19)
5. Walk On The Moon (3:31)
6. No Regrets (3:42)
7. Heartbreaker (3:15)
8. Wrestle The World (3:09)
9. Food For The Fire (3:03)

"Let's Eat" is really a Love/Hate album in name only, being more of a solo showcase for Jizzy Pearl. On this CD, Pearl wrote the songs, plays guitars, provides vocals and acted as producer. The sound of the album is very different from the glammy, sleazy, Hollywood metal of the band's early releases. Being that the year was 1999 and alternative rock was in full swing, some of that attitude is brought into the Love/Hate camp. The CD starts out with the solid "It Could Happen to Me", a heavy, funk rocker. "Don't Play Your Guitar When You're Talking to Me" slows the pace a little complete with an annoyingly rap chorus. Of course, the how rap-rock/rapcore phenomenon was also in full swing in 1999. The three songs that follow-up, "Uncle Said" "Ratboy" and "Walk on the Moon", are punk infused hard rock that are not bad but are unfortunately not all that memorable. "Walk on the Moon" in particular is an attempt at modern, funky alternative rock. "No Regrets" is a melancholy, slow-paced song that bleeds emotion despite the more modern vibe. "Heartbreaker" begins as a strong rocker before imploding into a sort of Korn wannabe sound. The album ends with "Food for the Fire" a song that recalls the funkier side of Faster Pussycat or Guns n Roses. Overall, "Let's Eat" isn't horrific, but it definitely isn't the infectious, hook riddled rock and roll of those early Love/Hate albums either.

I'm Not Happy Love/Hate - I'm Not Happy (Mayhem) 1995

1. Superfragilistic (2:37)
2. Hey Man (3:16)
3. I'm Not Happy (2:58)
4. The End (3:51)
5. Ola Mola (3:38)
6. Die (2:50)
7. Cutting Chain (3:27)
8. Searchers (3:06)
9. We Do What We Do (3:54)
10. Night Crawler (2:28)
11. Love Me Down (3:45)
12. Lady Jane (4:38)
13. I Am the Walrus (4:11)

"I'm No Happy" is the fourth album from LA sleaze rockers Love/Hate. The first two albums are masterpieces of the genre. With "I'm Not Happy" the band continues in their same, sleazy, hard driving, rock and roll style. The band have a raw, biting and fairly heavy sound and Jizzy Pearl's raspy vocals are charismatic and a big part of the charm of this band.

There are some great tunes on here that really could have been included on "Black Out" or "Wasted in America" such as the short album opener "Superfragilistic", the melodic "The End", the melancholic "Love Me Down" and the pissed-off rocker "I'm Not Happy". The later is a bit repetitive and has that same angry vibe as on Dangerous Toy's 1994 album "Pissed". I suppose the name of the album itself should have been a hint to the overall angry vibe of the album. "Hey Man" starts off a straight-up blues number and builds up into a slow, plodding rocker. This song sounds more like an obscure b-side track than something that should have been placed as the second track on the album. Other songs just sound like left-over tracks from past recording sessions, or perhaps b-side cuts. "Ola Mola" is one such song. The song a great guitar crunch but is overly repetitive and it almost sounds if Jizzy is just scatting and making things up as he goes rather than actually singing lyrics. The album ends with a cover of The Beatles "I Am the Walrus".

I'd be hard pressed to say that "I'm Not Happy" was of the same caliber as "Black Out" or "Wasted in America", but it's certainly not a bad album either. The songs are a hit and miss making the album as a whole not solid.

Back to Index