This Sarzo-Aldridge project was originally called Driver and had a different line-up, not to be confused with the other Driver of the late 80's, also featuring Rob Rock.

M.A.R.S. M.A.R.S. - Project: Driver (Shrapnel) 1986

1. "Nations on Fire" (2:48)
2. "Writings on the Wall" (2:59)
3. "Stand Up and Fight" (3:44)
4. "Nostradamus" (6:08)
5. "Unknown Survivor" (3:34)
6. "Fantasy" (3:25)
7. "Slave to My Touch" (3:27)
8. "I Can See It In Your Eyes" (4:23)
9. "You and I" (3:47)

Ozzy Osbourne's former rythm section team up with vocalist Rob Rock and guitar shredder Tony MacAlpine to form a rock 'n' roll supergroup, or for some, a heavy metal dream team. Project: Driver is a sophisticaded, melodic metal affair that features some of the finest playing in the genre. Sarzo and Aldridge lay down an excellent basis that allows all the members to shine. Of course the crowning achievement here is Rob Rock's stunning vocals. Rock's vocal melodies are memorable and give the music the hooks it needs to bring this fan back time and time again. MacAlpine sounds a bit tamer than I am use to hearing him, which is probably why so many McAlpine fans don't hold this album in high esteem. However, if you listen to this CD as a collection of songs, rather than listening to it for the guitar wankery, not only will you hear a CD full of great songs but you will also hear some excellent musical skills as well.

Had this CD autographed by Rob Rock when I met him at Elements of Rock Festival in Uster, Switzerland in 2006.

M.A.R.S. is:

Vocals: Rob Rock (Impellitteri, Avantasia, Driver, Warrior, Axel Rudi Pell, Joshua, Angelica, Jack Frost, Rick Renstrom)

Guitars/Keyboards: Tony MacAlpine (Ring of Fire, Planet X, Mark Boals, Vitalij Kuprij, Vinnie Moore, Joey Tafolla)

Bass: Rudy Sarzo (Pat Travers, Ozzy Osbourne, Quiet Riot, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Dio)

Drums: Tommy Aldridge (Ozzy Osbourne, Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy, Black Oak Arkansas, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Ted Nugent, House of Lords, etc.)

Back to Index