Surface of Pain Masquerade - Surface of Pain (Metal Blade) 1995

1. "Judas Kiss" (4:32)
2. "Say You Prayer" (4:13)
3. "State of Grace" (5:50)
4. "Suffering" (4:02)
5. "End of Nothing" (4:26)
6. "America" (5:24)
7. "God of Man" (6:17)
8. "Violation" (4:52)
9. "Feels Good" (4:18)
10. "Wasteland" (4:29)
11. "Mercy Me" (4:57)
12. "Free My Mind" (5:06)

I don't really know anything about this band. I bought a box of CDs from a store that was clearing out some old inventory and this disc was in that bundle. Much of the stuff in the box was crap that I traded or sold, but I held onto this one as the music contained herein grabbed my attention and held my interest. Masquerade are Swedish progressive metal that sometimes reminds me of King's X and Atomic Opera, yet I wouldn't say they sound exactly like either of these two bands. "Surface of Pain" has loads of groove and soulful vocals. Worth checking out if you are into melodic, technical heavy metal.

Back to Index