Mass Extinction

D.B.A.T. Mass Extinction - D.B.A.T. (demo) 2005

1. "Nuclear Dawn" (4:54)
2. "Bound In Flesh" (5:38)
3. "Harbringer Of Torment" (5:30)
4. "Bodies To The Slaughter" [live] (5:20)

This CD came with a pile of other CDs to review, so it took a while before I finally got to it. Frnakly, the cover art didn't look promising. However, never judge a book by it's cover. Mass Extinction are pure thrash metal. They don't pretend to be overly technical, nor are they trying to be innovative by mixing style of metal. Rather, Mass Extinction wear their influences on their sleeves and are not ashamed to admit it. Drawing influences from the pioneers of the early 80s Exodus, Slayer, Kreator, Destruction, etc. I also hear a heavy dose of early Sepultura.

Creations Undoing Mass Extinction - Creations Undoing (Underground Movment/demo) 2007

1. "Bodies For The Slaughter" (5:31)
2. "Manipulating Evolution" (5:02)
3. "Global Assassin" (5:10)

It's been a long two years since I received a demo from Mass Extinction. In 2007 Mass Extinction return with their second demo EP. This time around things are far more professional, right down to the excellent cover art and the silver, factory pressed CD. The production is improved as well. Each instrument is heard clearly. The guitars are crunchy and the bass holds up the bottom end nicely. Honestly, this album sounds like it could have been recorded in the early 90's during the height of thrash metal mania. However, production is not the important part here. Mass Extinction are 100%, old school, thrash metal. The music is fast, aggressive and loaded with fast and furious guitar solos. The vocals are course and heavy and at times remind me of King Fowley of October 31/Deceased. Thankfully vocalist Tom Cunningham avoids the trappings of the modern metalcore and neo-thrash movement and isn't just screaming. Together with sharp songwriting, Mass Extinction have created one razor-sharp, thrash EP. My only real complaint is that this CD is far to short. Just when you get going, it's over. Here's hoping the next release will be a full length album. (thanks Kieran)

Back to Index