Presage of Disaster Midas Touch - Presage of Disaster (Noise/CDR) 1989

1. "The Arrival" (1:10)
2. "Forcibly Incarcerated" (3:57)
3. "Sinking Censorship" (3:46)
4. "When the Boat Comes Down" (4:21)
5. "True Believers Inc." (3:27)
6. "Reminiscence" (1:20)
7. "Sepulchral Epitaph" (4:03)
8. "Lost Paradise" (1:16)
9. "Acessory Before the Fact" (5:31)
10. "Acadalma - Terminal Breath" (3:55)
11. "Subhumanity (A New Cycle)" (2:46)

It's amazing how many thrash bands there were in the scene in '88-92. Midas Touch are one of those bands, and one that I was unaware of until a decade later. I suppose, looking back, that Midas Touch was probably lost in the shuffle as their sound is not particularly unique and their vocalist, while competent, doesn't necessarily stick out of the pack. The vocals are sort of in between the clean and gutteral sounds. While their vocalist doesn't have the high pitched screams of a John Cyriis or Joey Belladonna, he's not as brutal as Chuck Schuldiner. However, hearing Midas Touch some ten years later, when thrash has all but vanished, I particularly enjoyed their hyper speed metal sound and thought it refreshing to hear a band that didn't have someone growling over top the manic riffs. Musically "Presage of Disaster" is heavily influenced by early Metallica and Slayer, (like what 80's thrash band wasn't?) making for a very enjoyable listening experience. Had a hard time keeping from banging my head as I listened to this while I was working in my office.

Back to Index