Midnight Hero
Midnight Hero

MHII Midnight Hero - MHII (independent) 2007

1. "Midnight Hero" (4:06)
2. "Flesh & Blood" (3:22)
3. "Trouble" (3:54)
4. "Too Late" (3:55)
5. "The Angels Cry (4:13)
6. "Forever By My Side" (4:24)
7. "Winds of Anger" (3:12)
8. "Cry No More" (4:19)
9. "Moonage Daydream" (3:32)
10. Takin' It On the Run" (3:10)

Midnight Hero are a melodic hard rock/heavy metal band from Philadelphia, PA, USA. Had I not read in their bio that these songs were recorded in 2006 - 07, I would have swore that this album was recorded back in the mid-1980s. Everything from the recording to the song writing has that classic, early 1980's underground metal feel. "MHII" features heavy guitars, well executed leads, melodic songs, strong lead vocals and catchy, sing-along choruses. My guess would be that these guys all grew up in the 70's listening to bands like Aerosmith, Angel, Slade, Sweet and probably a bit of Black Sabbath as well. However, their sound is more akin to early Dokken.

Unfortunately the production is lacking, sounding more like a demo than a professionally recorded CD. The overall sound is very thin and muffled. Still, for those who grew up in the golden age of metal, many releases were like this back then. While I found the recording a bit distracting at first, it wasn't so distracting that I couldn't enjoy the music. The more spins I gave this CD the production became less and less of a problems.

Chances are, if you enjoy classic heavy metal and melodic hard rock, you'll be singing along to just about every song on "MHIII" by the second spin. I know I found myself doing that very thing..."Trouble, here comes Trouble..."

Back to Index