Modus Operendi

M.O. Modus Operendi (independent) 1995

1. "Good Day to Die" (3:24)
2. "Here I Stand" (5:43)
3. "Human State" (4:24)
4. "Dead or Alive" (4:05)
5. "Angry Man" (9:36)
6. "Who Can I Trust" (5:55)
7. "Crucified With Christ" (5:19)
8. "Who Am I" (3:46)
9. Gehena" (7:12)
10. "Lest I Forget" (7:06)
11. "untitled hidden track" (2:36)

I purchased this one on the advice of a friend who went to check them out in Los Angeles, California when they opened for Ron Rinehart's new band Oil at some night club. I was told that they sounded similar to Deliverance and Ultimatum. Well, musically, I can see the similarities. The difference, however, is in the vocals which are shouted in a hardcore fashion. Many times the vocals are flat and out of key but most often than not, they are just not very interesting. The thing about most thrash bands is that the vocalists have a very distinct style. People either love or hate vocalists like those in Deliverance and Ultimatum, but this is just mediocre. I can't get past the vocals on this one. I'll bet they put on a great live show though.

Black Steel Box Modus Operendi - Black Steel Box (independent) 2002

1. "Choke" (2:25)
2. "Black Steel Box" (3:17)
3. "When Will You Learn" (3:04)
4. "Deathride" (5:19)
5. "Sacrifice" (4:18)
6. "Greed" (4:34)
7. "Where Can I Go" (3:24)
8. "Waterbrook" (4:10)
9. "Appleye" (2:21)
10. "Earthmover" (3:11)
11. "Blood River" (3:42)
12. "The Truth Hurts" (3:05)

Modus Operendi's latest disc, "Black Steel Box," is heavy, dark, gothic metal with a bit of early 90's thrash influences. However, I really wouldn't call the music thrash metal. Modus Operendi, who have simplified their name to MO on this album, are following down a similar path as fellow California metalheads Oil. They have taken the influences of some more modern bands and combined it with old school metal songwriting, so they sound modern without really following any particular musical trend. Whille the majority of the disc is heavy and menacing, there are a few more somber moments like "Deathride" which despite the song title is a ballad of sorts. Otherwise, however, this disc rocks from beginning to end. For those who shy away from a strong message in music, then run away because there are no weak messages here.

Back to Index