Not Fragile

21st Century Ballroom Not Fragile - 21st Century Ballroom (Hellion) 2001

1. "21st Century Ballroom" (3:39)
2. "Lost in the Rain" (4:17)
3. "Into the Hurricane" (4:10)
4. "Like Guardians" (3:46)
5. "Monsters of Metal" (3:38)
6. "Starlight to the Revolution" (3:10)
7. "Dreamflight" (4:01)
8. "Lay it Down" (4:46)
9. "New Generation" (3:44)
10. "We Don't Surrender" (3:22)
11. "Somebody's Waiting" (4:32)

Despite a name that sounds a bit like a keyboard-encrusted progressive rock band or something, Not Fragile play straight forward, old school, heavy metal with some heavy NWOBHM influences. Imagine a mixture of Tokyo Blade, Priest and a bit of "On Through the Night"-era Def Leppard and you might get an idea of what to expect here. The vocals are of the mid-to-high variety sounding a bit like Biff Byford (Saxon) here and there. For the most parts the songs are all of the mid-tempo, ploding, heavy mode, but there is plenty of distinction and hook in the songs to avoid having them all just run together. "We Don't Surrender" is one of the fast tunes offering up some steady double bass and quick guitar licks. "Like Guardians" and "Monsters of Metal" also stuck out from the very first listen as standout tracks.

Back to Index