Path of Debris

Eyes of Balilisk Path of Debris - Eyes of the Basilisk (Pavement) 1999

1. "Epilogue" (1:20)
2. "The Eyes of the Basilisk" (4:09)
3. "Flight of the Valkyries" (3:32)
4. "Left in Loneliness" (4:39)
5. "Destiny" (5:36)
6. "Beyond the Ivory Gate" (4:42)
7. "Through Fire and Ice" (4:47)
8. "Stormrider" (4:43)
9. "Under Siege" (5:24)

I know very little about this band. A fellow cd collector and friend of mine sent me this cd as a surprise. I had no idea what to expect when I first popped the cd into the player. My first reaction was that the band had striking similarities to earlyAmorphis, melodic death metal, yet heavy as a ten ton truck running out of control. Unfortunately the vocals remain within the death genre with very little variety. The music is what makes this disc. Supposedly this is a concept album based on a legend about a creature living within deep of the forests. The liner notes describe this beast as half snake, half cock, and far more terrifying than anyone could image. Problem is that the lyrics are undesipherable unless you have the lyric sheet right in front of you, so the story does not become as interegal a part of the listening experience as it could have.

Back to Index