Peter Frampton

Frampton Peter Frampton - Frampton (A&M) 1974

1. "Day's Dawning" (3:55)
2. "Show Me The Way" (4:02)
3. "One More Time" (3:19)
4. "The Crying Clown" (4:03)
5. "Fanfare" (3:28)
6. "Nowhere's Too Far (For My Baby)" (4:18)
7. "Nassau" [instrumental] (1:07)
8. "Baby I Love Your Way" (4:42)
9. "Apple Of Your Eye" (3:41)
10. "Penny For Your Thoughts" [instrumental] (1:27)
11. "(I'll Give You) Money" (4:34)

Frampton left the successful Humble Pie in 1971 to venture out on his own and move away from the hard rock groove that the band was becoming known for. His first solo album in 1972 did well, but didn't give him massive success either. This record was the one which gave Peter Frampton his first real taste of solo success, although not the success he would soon discover with the massive "Frampton Comes Alive." On this album, recorded at Clearwell Castle in England, Frampton goes for a melodic, mellow, cheerful, upbeat, rock and roll sound. The songs are mostly guitar driven and feature some nice lead work. Many songs feature acoustic guitars and piano as their basis, while others such as "Nowhere's Too Far" and "(I'll Give You) Money" are more hard rock based. However, the overall feel of the record is actually similar to the "Comes Alive" album. "Frampton" has a simplistic, live feel that works quite well. Perhaps the best, and most well known track on this album is "Show Me the Way", a long song that has a great hook and is benefitted by the mix of both electric and acoustic guitars. This song became even bigger and better on the "Comes Alive" album. "Baby I Love Your Way" also became a success on the "Comes Alive" album, but is beautifully recorded here as well. The album ends off with the superb hard rocker "(I'll Give You) Money". So why is this album featured on NoLifetilMetal if it is so far removed from heavy metal? Because I like it. That's it. No other reason whatsoever. Cheesy? Perhaps. It's just one of those albums I was into as a kid in the 70's and one that I still enjoy today. I actually hope to add "Frampton's Camel" and "I'm In You" someday too.

Something's Happening Peter Frampton - Something's Happening (1974)

1. "Doobie Wah" (4:04)
2. "Golden Goose" (5:30)
3. "Underhand" (3:39)
4. "I Wanna Go To The Sun" (7:29)
5. "Baby (Somethin's Happening)" (4:46)
6. "Waterfall" (6:00)
7. "Magic Moon (Da Da Da Da Da!)" (3:49)
8. "Sail Away" (7:32)

Frampton's third solo album was chock full of catchy, melodic rock and roll. It contains a few of Frampton's more memorable songs including "Waterfall", the funky, acoustic guitar driven "Underhand", the Beatle-esque "I Wanna Go to the Sun" and album opener "Doobie Wah", which would come to life on "Frampton Comes Alive". Musically, Frampton's songs still have a similar quality to his former band Humble Pie, although he tends to be a bit more melodic and perhaps adds a more pop tinge. The guitar work throughout is quite good. However, it must also be noted that the bass work from Rick Willis really brings the songs to life as well.

Many have complained about the production on this release, and indeed it is probably not the best mixed album to come out of the 70's, but I've heard far, far worse. I've never actually minded the production. The 2000 CD reissue is remastered and sounds much better than I remember my old vinyl copy sounding.

Frampton Comes Alive Peter Frampton - Frampton Comes Alive! (A&M) 1976

1. "Something's Happening" (5:40)
2. "Doobie Wah" (5:34)
3. "Show Me the Way" (4:34)
4. "It's a Plain Shame" (4:36)
5. "All I Want to Be (Is By Your Side)" (3:25)
6. "Wind of Change" (2:45)
7. "Baby, I Love Your Way" (4:37)
8. "I Wanna Go to the Sun" (7:14)
9. "Penny for Your Thoughts" [instrumental] (1:22)
10. "(I'll Give You) Money" (5:36)
11. "Shine On" (3:34)
12. "Jumping Jack Flash" (7:52)
13. "Lines on My Face" (7:02)
14. "Do You Feel Like We Do" (14:15)

So what is a Peter Frampton album doing on a page dedicated to heavy metal? Well, I suppose it's a guilty pleasure of mine. Having grown up in the 70's, this album saw plenty of spin time growing up. Twenty years later "Frampton Comes Alive!" is still a good rock and roll album. Quite frankly, Frampton Comes Alive! is one of the albums that defined an era of rock and roll. Live albums were pretty much throwaways before the mega selling "Frampton Comes Alive!" Afterwards, live albums became staples in the music business and many became big sellers hereafter. This double-LP package set sales records, stayed on the charts for a year and contained three bona fide radio hits including "Baby, I Love Your Way," "Show Me the Way," and "Do You Feel Like We Do?" The last song is especially surprising considering it is nearly fifteen minutes long. The music bounces from light 70's pop to sentimental ballads to extended guitar jams to full blown hard rocker like "(I'll Give You) Money". The mix of electric and acoustic guitars is quite inviting, as is the signature talk box guitar. One other thing about this album is the audience participation which becomes essential to the overall sound of the album. Call it a guilty pleasure, call it wimpy, call it whatever you want, but every once in a while I enjoy this CD. "Jumping Jack Flash" is a Rolling Stones cover.

Back to Index